Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Brian Culbertson - Somethin' Bout Love (1999) (MP3 320 kbps)

21-04-2014, 19:07
Music | Jazz | Smooth Jazz

 Brian Culbertson - Somethin' Bout Love (1999) (MP3 320 kbps)

Artist: Brian Culbertson
Title Of Album: Somethin' Bout Love
Year Of Release: 1999
Label: Atlantic
Genre: Jazz, Smooth Jazz
Quality: MP3
Bitrate: 320kbps
Total Time: 54:51 min
Total Size: 127 mb

There is a strange but beautiful irony that occurs when an artist writes a great song upon the death of a loved one. Doubtful that Brian Culbertson was aiming for one of Somethin' Bout Love's (Atlantic) most emotionally rich tunes when he wrote the powerful gospel of "I'm Gonna Miss You" for his late manager Howard Lowe II, but he and co-writer/vocalist Lori Perry achieve just that. Unlike similar tunes in American culture that come across as generic, the poignant lyrics are specific to the artist-manager relationship, adding to the tune's uniqueness. The previous ten tracks are typically engaging Culbertson: irresistibly bubbly piano melodies over easy funk grooves, and engaging guest shots by genre artists like saxman Steve Cole (whose alto jams alongside the piano on the hook as Ricky Peterson's Hammond B-3 simmers like a finger on the trigger in the background), Paul Jackson, Jr., Wayman Tisdale, and Dave Koz. Part of the Culbertson lore has him becoming a smooth jazz star while pursuing his love of film scoring. "The Rise and Fall (Of Loving You)," a powerful duet with Koz, soars like the climactic scene in a romantic movie. Culbertson should also further cultivate his love for brassy R&B/blues funk, as the jammin' "Back in the Day" -- featuring the keyboardist playing trumpet and trombone -- which rings like a classic Earth, Wind & Fire type tune. ~ Jonathan Widran

 Brian Culbertson - Somethin' Bout Love (1999) (MP3 320 kbps)
01. Somethin' Bout Love (4:45)
02. Do You Really Love Me (4:33)
03. Get'n Over You (3:30)
04. The Secret Garden (Instrumental) (6:40)
05. Sittin' Back (4:18)
06. Back In The Day (4:32)
07. It's Only You (4:40)
08. The Rise And Fall (Of Loving You) (4:22)
09. Escape (4:55)
10. The Secret Garden (6:24)
11. I'm Gonna Miss You (6:12)

Personnel: Brian Culbertson (trumpet, trombone, piano, Fender Rhodes piano, keyboards, bass synthesizer, bass programming, drum programming); Fred White , Lori Perry (vocals, background vocals); Howard Hewett, Donnell Spencer (vocals); Paul Jackson, Jr. (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Gerey Johnson (guitar, wah-wah guitar); Tony Maiden, Ray Fuller (guitar); Michael Thompson (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Dave Koz, Steve Cole (saxophone); Jim Culbertson (flugelhorn); Oscar Seaton (drums, cymbals, hi-hat); Michael White (drums, cymbals); Ricky Lawson, Todd Sucherman (drums); Steve Johnson (cymbals); Lenny Castro (percussion); Kevin Chandler, Steve Grisette, Josie Aiello (background vocals).

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted

jfortea   User offline   22 April 2014 15:53

3 Thak You !!!

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.