Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Sleepy John Estes - Stone Blind Blues (1999)

4-04-2014, 10:22
Music | Blues

Sleepy John Estes - Stone Blind Blues (1999)

Artist: Sleepy John Estes
Title Of Album: Stone Blind Blues
Year Of Release: 1999
Label: Catfish Records
Genre: Country Blues
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbps, 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 70:46
Total Size: 168 Mb
Covers: Front & Back

01. Broken Hearted, Ragged and Dirty Too (3:19)
02. Floating Bridge (3:10)
03. Lawyer Clark Blues (3:07)
04. Harlem Bound (2:03)
05. Divin' Duck Blues (3:12)
06. Liquor Store Blues (2:27)
07. Watcha Doin' (3:01)
08. Working Man Blues (2:58)
09. Someday Baby Blues (3:00)
10. The Girl I Love She Got Long Curly Hair (2:56)
11. Special Agent Blues (2:50)
12. Easin' Back to Tennessee (2:41)
13. Stone Blind Blues (3:00)
14. Milk Cow Blues (3:01)
15. Clean up at Home (2:35)
16. Tell Me How About It (2:26)
17. I Ain't Gonna Be Worried No More (3:04)
18. Jack and Jill Blues (2:38)
19. You Shouldn't Do That (2:32)
20. Stop That Thing (2:42)
21. Hobo Jungle Blues (2:55)
22. Brownsville Blues (3:07)
23. Drop Down (2:45)
24. Everybody Oughta Make a Change (2:48)
25. Time Is Drawing Near (2:22)

Sleepy John Estes wasn't a great singer, and he was a barely passable guitarist, and yet he managed to sustain an intermittent career in the blues for over 50 years. He was able to do that because he was an amazingly subtle songwriter, with a clear grasp of characterization, location, and metaphor, traits not usually associated with the country blues. This fine single-disc collection of his early 78s has several examples of Estes' deceptive skill, including the blues classic "Diving Duck Blues," which sports the immortal lines "if the river was whiskey/and I was a diving duck/I'd dive to the bottom/and I never would come up," lines that have since shown up in countless other blues songs. Other gems on this anthology from Catfish Records include a bit of domestic advice ("Better Clean Up at Home"), some self-analysis ("I Ain't Gonna Be Worried No More"), and even a study in pop dynamics ("Time Is Drawing Near"). The deceptively simple "Brownsville Blues" equates a stalled car with a stalled life, while the haunting "Floating Bridge" is a magnificent bit of cautionary autobiography, complete with a metaphoric (and almost literal) death and resurrection. Time after time one finds that these songs, which appear so simple and calm on the surface, reveal surprising depth and unexpected lyrical turns when closely examined. There is simply no one else in country blues quite like Estes. ~Review by Steve Leggett

Uploaded | Turbobit

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted

nrwsps   User offline   17 April 2014 00:11


  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.