Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Eric Carmen - The Essential Eric Carmen (2014)

25-03-2014, 19:17
Music | Pop | Rock | Alternative

Eric Carmen - The Essential Eric Carmen (2014)

Artist: Eric Carmen
Title Of Album: The Essential Eric Carmen
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Sony Music
Genre: Rock, Soft Rock, Pop Rock, Adult Contemporary
Quality: Mp3
Bitrate: V0 VBR
Total Time: 125 Min
Total Size: 235 Mb


Disc One
01. Get The Message (w/ Cyrus Erie)+
02. Go All The Way (w/Raspberries)
03. I Wanna Be With You (w/Raspberries)
04. Let's Pretend (w/Raspberries)
05. Tonight (w/Raspberries)
06. Overnight Sensation (Hit Record) (w/Raspberries)
07. Sunrise
08. My Girl
09. All By Myself
10. Never Gonna Fall In Love Again
11. Last Night
12. Starting Over (Live 1976) *
13. That's Rock N' Roll (Live 1976) *
14. Run Away
15. Love Is All That Matters

Disc Two
01. Boats Against The Current
02. Marathon Man
03. She Did It
04. Nowhere To Hide
05. Change Of Heart
06. Hey Deanie
07. Desperate Fools
08. Someday
09. It Hurts Too Much
10. Tonight You're Mine
11. The Way We Used To Be
12. Hungry Eyes
13. Make Me Lose Control
14. Ecstasy (Live 2005) (w/Raspberries)
15. Brand New Year **

It's been a long time since Eric Carmen has had his body of work compiled — 1997's Definitive Collection, to be exact, which had 18 hits on a single disc. Legacy's 2014 The Essential Eric Carmen easily trumps that set by offering 30 tracks from every phase of Carmen's career, beginning with the little-heard 1969 single "Get the Message" from his first band Cyrus Eri, and ending with the pretty good brand-new "Brand New Year." Carmen's professional career spans over four decades, but there aren't that many studio albums to draw upon: four albums from the Raspberries, six solo albums, plus the Dirty Dancing soundtrack, which provided him with some of his biggest hits (so big, he effectively stopped recording afterward, cutting only one album in the years since). That means that this collection does indeed have almost everything of note, from the big Raspberries hits "Go All the Way" and "Overnight Sensation (Hit Record)," through the '70s solo smashes "All by Myself" and "Never Gonna Fall in Love Again," through those late-'80s sensations "Hungry Eyes" and "Make Me Lose Control." Inevitably, there are a handful of songs missing — most regrettably, the superb 1985 single is absent, but so is 1979's minor "Baby, I Need Your Lovin'," and anything from the 2000 comeback — but these are ultimately minor omissions, with The Essential Eric Carmen offering a thorough retrospective of a pop singer/songwriter who, at his best, could splice Brian Wilson, Paul McCartney, and Phil Spector, sometimes spiking it with some power chords borrowed from the Who. This collection makes it plain that Carmen always worked in this vein — it's fascinating to hear the "Please Please Me" "come on, come on" refrain repeat back to back on the opening "Get the Message" and "Go All the Way" — and just found ways to appealingly refine his craft as the years rolled by.


Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted

dino69   User offline   25 March 2014 22:57


  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.