Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


High Speed Downloads

VA – Duo Art: Creating Magic (2014)
[MP3 Version]

8946 downloads at 13 mb/s

VA – Duo Art: Creating Magic (2014)
[FLAC Version]

9672 downloads at 25 mb/s

VA – Duo Art: Creating Magic (2014)

22-03-2014, 16:14

VA – Duo Art: Creating Magic (2014)

Artist: VA
Title Of Album: Duo Art: Creating Magic
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: ACT
Genre: ACT, Jazz
Quality: MP3
Bitrate: VBR~222 kbps
Total Time: 1:51:17
Total Size: 176 mb


1. Jasper van't Hof & Bob Malach - Black Is the Color of My True Love‘s Hair (3:24)
2. Jan Johansson & Georg Riedel - Visa Från Utanmyra (3:14)
3. Philip Catherine & Martin Wind - Fried Bananas (4:24)
4. Viktoria Tolstoy & Jacob Karlzon - : Red Rain (5:06)
5. Michel Wollny & Marius Neset - Polygon (6:35)
6. Gwilym Simcock & Yuri Goloubev - Pastoral (8:17)
7. Nils Landgren & Esbjörn Svensson - Song from the Valley (3:38)
8. Iiro Rantala & Michael Wollny - Tears for Esbjörn (6:36)
9. Bugge Wesseltoft & Henning Kraggerud - Improvisation Over la Folia (2:42)
10. Youn Sun Nah & Ulf Wakenius - Avec le Temps (5:07)
11. Adam Baldych & Yaron Herman - Letter for E. (5:56)
12. Gerardo Nuñez & Renaud García-Fons - Un Amor Real (3:25)
13. Sidsel Endresen & Bugge Wesseltoft - Nightsong (2:46)
14. Christof Lauer & Jens Thomas - Green Dance (3:21)
15. Nguyên Lê & Paolo Fresu - Lacrima Christi (3:11)
16. Lars Danielsson & Leszek Mozdzer - Pasodoble (4:49)
17. George Mraz & Emil Viklický - Up On a Fir Tree (3:18)
18. Klaus Paier & Asja Valcic - Tango Loco (3:42)
19. Heinz Sauer & Joachim Kühn - Lover Man (3:13)
20. Jens Thomas & Verneri Pohjola - T.N.T. (4:21)
21. Wayne Krantz & Bob Malach - Fate (2:57)
22. Jonas Knutsson & Johan Norberg - Jämtpelle (4:04)
23. Danilo Rea & Flavio Boltro - O Mio Babbino Caro (4:28)
24. Eddie Harris & Gil Goldstein - You Stole My Heart (12:43)

German label ACT has now been in existence for some twenty years or so and this double CD set celebrates the sheer diversity of the musicians on its roster with particular reference to duet performances which is a novel way in which to showcase the products on offer.
What comes across from cherry-picking releases in this fashion is that ACT has promoted a good many up and coming jazz artists with a genius for uncovering talented pianists and, at the same time, focusing attention once again on some of the most gifted historical musicians who may for one reason or another have gone out of the public eye.
For the former, Michel Wollny is highlighted on two numbers with ‘Polygou’ featuring Marius Nesetmemorable.
British pianist Gwilym Simcock’s standing has soared in recent years and the piece ‘Pastoral’ in duet with Yuri Gloubev gives an indication why.
Among the more established musicians, the pairing of saxophonist Hanz Sauer and pianist Joachim Kühn has been a fruitful one in recent years and their interpretation of the standard ‘Lover Man’ is well up to their usual high standard.
Guitar and bass duets are relatively rare so the pairing of guitarist Philip Catherine and bassist Martin Wind is a welcome one and their uptempo take on Dexter Gordon’s ‘Fried Banana’s’ is well worth investigating and one track on their new album.
World roots flavours abound here with fusion collaborations another strong feature of ACT. The atmospheric Milesesque trumpet hues emanate from a duet between Italian trumpeter Paolo Fresu and French-born guitarist with Vietnamese heritage Nguyên Lê on ‘Lacrima Christi’ while flamenco jazz is the order of the day from Gerardo Nunez and Renaud Garcia-Fons on ‘Un Amor real’.
Fusion jazz is not forgotten and Bugge Wesseltoft is included on two duets recordings, with ‘Improvisation over La Folia’ in collaboration with violinist Henning Graggervd especially memorable.
A more unusual duet is that between two American jazzmen, saxophonist Eddie Harris and keyboardist/arranger Gil Goldstein. This rendition of ‘You stole my heart’ is taken from the ‘Last Concert’ that Harris performed before passing away.
In general, then, this selection overview is an excellent way to dip into the ACT back catalogue as well as having a sneak preview of some new and forthcoming releases. It is part of a series devoted to duo music on the label that will be unfolding throughout the year and demonstrates ACT’s continued commitment to new and innovative jazz music.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 80
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.