Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - The Soul Fire Box Set: Rare Sides From The Soul Fire Catalog (2014)

18-02-2014, 20:03
Soul | Funk

VA - The Soul Fire Box Set: Rare Sides From The Soul Fire Catalog (2014)

Artist: Various Performers
Title Of Album: The Soul Fire Box Set: Rare Sides From The Soul Fire Catalog
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Truth & Soul
Genre: Soul, Funk
Quality: mp3
Total Length: 01:49:29
Bitrate: VBRkbps
Total Size: ~ 241 Mb


01. Lee Fields & the Explorers – I’m the Man [03:07]
02. El Michels Affair – Easy Access [04:54]
03. Bronx River Parkway – Chum’s Pimpage [02:56]
04. The Fabulous Three – Vibes [04:25]
05. Bama and the Family – Get Up in Your Hot Pants [02:26]
06. Detroit Sex Machines – Rap It Together [02:31]
07. Lee Fields & the Explorers – Honey Dove [03:22]
08. J.D. & The Evil’s Dynamite Band – Sunday Kind of Love [02:48]
09. The Fabulous Three – Recording # 82 [03:21]
10. Jojo Kuo & His Challengers – Brick By Brick [04:31]
11. The Fabulous Three – Django’s Soul [01:52]
12. Bama & the Family – Googie [02:39]
13. J.D. & The Evil’s Dynamite Band – Everglades Pt. 1 [03:07]
14. El Michels Affair – Spread Your Soul [03:08]
15. J.D. & The Evil’s Dynamite Band – Beer (So Nice), Right On [03:55]
16. The Soul Diggers – Soul Dig [03:16]
17. The Fabulous Three – Nightbird (Bonus Beat) [00:13]
18. The Third Eye – Children’s Song [04:04]
19. The Fabulous Three – Answer Me Softly [03:09]
20. The Fabulous Three – Whitesands [02:03]
21. Bronx River Parkway – Quienes Que Resoverlo [02:52]
22. The Fabulous Three – Odyssey Revised [04:06]
23. Bama and the Family – Don’t Think…Do [03:27]
24. Lee Fields & the Explorers – Problems [03:13]
25. Zafari – Addis Ababa [03:39]
26. Raindeer Runners – Super Smooth [03:04]
27. Lee Fields & the Explorers – Ain’t It Funky Now [03:16]
28. The Fabulous Three – Nightbird [02:09]
29. The Explorers – Clap Your Hands [02:59]
30. Lee Fields & the Explorers – You Made a New Man Out of Me [03:22]
31. Third Point – Majestic Soul [03:03]
32. The Fabulous Three – Pep’s [02:35]
33. Detroit Sex Machines – The Funky Crawl [03:15]
34. Lee Fields & the Explorers – Soul Dynamite [03:36]
35. WQLJ – Nothin’ Doin’ But Waitin’ On Leon [02:46]

Back in the late 1990s, there was a burgeoning underground scene for soul and funk licks that sounded dirty and raw. No, it wasn’t Daptone; it was Soul Fire Records. It endured for approximately four years and released around thirty 45s and a smattering of full-length LP/CDs. Eventually, the label morphed into Truth & Soul Records, which is still operational today.

Label founder Phillip Lehman pens the liner notes included with the package and describes how important style, and not technique, was to the label’s heart. In it, he describes his mission of making “a label dedicated to the pursuit of funk in the pure tradition of basement studio recordings, living room, recordings, and rehearsal studio recordings.”

A number of compilations have collected sides recorded for Soul Fire throughout the years including the two-volume Grazing in the Trash, Up from the Vaults Volume 1, and Soul Fire: The Majestic Collection compilations, but even most of those have gone out of print.

On Friday, November 29 (Black Friday Record Store Day), Truth & Soul Records aims to rectify that situation with an 8″ x 7″ 45 silkscreened set that will boast rarities and favorites alike. While the set is limited to 1000 units, it’s a soft launch for a future double-CD compilation that has a tentative release date of January 21, 2014.

The collected music here represents all the varied genres and influences the label dug into. “Rap It Together” by the Detroit Sex Machines sounds like a lost Meters track with its lyrical cadence; Latin soul is explored via Bronx River Parkway’s “Quienes Que Resoverlo”; African themes erupt on “Addis Ababa” by Zafari; and perhaps Soul Fire/Truth & Soul’s most well-known frontman, Lee Fields, gives James Brown a run for his funkiness on “I’m The Man” with his confidence, yowls, and that tasty rhythm guitar, heard below.

♪ Download Links, Single Extraction, No Password ♪

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.