Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Lennie Tristano - Trio, Quartet, Quintet & Sextet: 1946-1949

8-02-2014, 00:36
Music | Jazz | FLAC / APE

Lennie Tristano - Trio, Quartet, Quintet & Sextet: 1946-1949

Artist: Lennie Tristano
Title Of Album: Trio, Quartet, Quintet & Sextet: 1946-1949
Year Of Release: 1998
Label: Giants Of Jazz
Genre: Jazz, Bop, Cool
Format: Flac/Cue/Log/Artwork
Quality: Lossless
Total Time: 61:05
Total Size: 252 MB(+5%)


01 - Intuition
02 - Digression
03 - Marionette
04 - Yesterday
05 - Crosscurrent
06 - Interlude
07 - Freedom
08 - Atonement
09 - Coolin' off with Ulanov
10 - I Can't Get Started with You
11 - Out on a Limb
12 - I Surrender Dear
13 - Progression
14 - Retrospection
15 - Subcoscious-Lee
16 - Judy
17 - Parallel
18 - Abstraction
19 - Dissonance
20 - New Sound
21 - You Go to My Head

Giants of Jazz presents an exciting tour of Lennie Tristano's three-, four-, five- and six-piece ensemble recordings dating from the mid- to late 1940s. True to the unspoken policy of this label, the material is chronologically scrambled in an apparent attempt to avoid replicating other, tidier Tristano reissues. Six titles were harvested from Tristano's two groundbreaking Keynote sessions of 1946 and 1947; these were trio affairs involving guitarist Billy Bauer and bassists Bob Leininger or Clyde Lombardi. A lesser-known trio session from December 1947 resulted in "Parallel," "Abstraction" "Freedom" and "Dissonance," which were originally released on the Baronet record label. Regarding the quartets: saxophonist John LaPorta recorded "New Sound" with Tristano, Bauer and bassist Arnold Fishkin on the last day of 1947 (this was also issued on Baronet) and the rhythm section from this date reconvened in March 1949 with drummer Harold Granowsky to record "Yesterdays," which was issued by Capitol. A superb session for Prestige New Jazz took place on November 11, 1949, with Tristano, Bauer and Fishkin forming a marvelous quintet with saxophonist Lee Konitz and drummer Shelly Manne. The titles from this date are "Progression," "Retrospection," "Subconscious-Lee" and "Judy." As for the sextets: three choice cuts from a May 1949 Capitol session ("Intuition," "Digression" and Bauer's "Marionette") find the pianist surrounded by saxophonists Warne Marsh and Lee Konitz, Bauer, Fishkin and drummer Denzil Best. This dazzling package closes with a live rendition of "You Go to My Head" culled from a Voice of America radio broadcast from Carnegie Hall on December 24, 1949, with Konitz, Marsh, Bauer, bassist Joe Shulman and drummer Jeff Morton. Altogether an excellent sampler of early modern jazz that is creative, inspired, accessible and very enjoyable.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted

frav10   User offline   8 February 2014 05:51

Thank's from Israel 3

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.