Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - G Spots: The Spacey Folk Electro-horror Sounds of the Studio G Library (2009)

VA - G Spots: The Spacey Folk Electro-horror Sounds of the Studio G Library (2009)

Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: G Spots: The Spacey Folk Electro-horror Sounds of the Studio G Library
Year Of Release: 2009
Label: Trunk Records / JBH032CD
Genre: Early Electronic, Library Music, Easy Listening
Total Time: 56:53 min
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 136 mb / 299 mb

This new Trunk compilation offers a portrait of the library music company Studio G, established in the 1960s by ad man John Gale to counteract the dearth of decent library material tailored for commercials. Perhaps somewhat appropriately for a shortform medium like advertising, the label started life on the 7" format before graduating to LPs, whose material became popular for usage on TV shows over the ensuing twenty-years or so. Examples of Studio G's music were heard on such shows as Vision On and television coverage of what might be termed the less glamorous end of the sporting spectrum such as darts and crown green bowls. There's a certain potting shed charm to the studio's output, keeping the mixture of compositional and instrumental elements to a manageable minimum. You'll encounter a real elegance and simplicity of conception behind pieces like the synth vs. guitar standoff 'Folk Ghost', while other contributions are more about recording and process than they are conventional composition: 'VoodooTronics' keeps its focus by reveling in tape-edit experiments. As tends to be the case with the best library music of this era the electronic elements are freakishly inventive, transcending the by-default wallpapery nature of the format and providing some delectably ear-tickling moments. That said, it'd be unwise to expect any Radiophonic innovation here, but it'd be equally remiss to think of this as easy listening schmaltz. Ditties (and if ever there was call to use that word it'd be here) like the irrepressibly jaunty 'Five To A Bar' rub shoulders with more abstract, esoteric fare, such as the compellingly avant-garde 'Deformed Theme' and the dubbed-out woodwind delays of 'Visions Of 200AD 4'. Sifting through G-Spot's discography, a compilation/label retrospective like this represents what Trunk does best: G Spots gives you access to another world of sonic wonders that'd otherwise be all-but lost to the ravages of time.


01. Douglas Wood - Icicles
02. Douglas Wood - Folk Ghost
03. Douglas Wood - Boy On Space
04. Douglas Wood - Moon Nightclub
05. Paul Lewis - Waiting For Nina
06. Douglas Wood - Silhouettes
07. Douglas Wood - Kids Stuff
08. Douglas Wood - Soul Riff
09. Douglas Wood - Five To A Bar
10. Douglas Wood - Romantic Sway
11. James Harpham - Moving Parts
12. Ivor Raymond - Wild Cat Walk
13. Harry Pitch - Elephants Dance
14. James Harpham - Visions of 2000AD 4
15. Eric Peters - Deformed Theme
16. P Willsher / T Kelly - Foggy Dock
17. P Willsher / T Kelly - Dangerous Voyage
18. James Harpham - VoodooTronics
19. James Asher - Cosmic Dust
20. James Asher - Liquid Gold
21. Frederick Judd - Sprockets
22. F Afzelius - Cosmic Blues
23. Eric Peters - Planet Travel
24. Eric Peters - Space Service
25. Eric Peters - Freak Blues
26. Cliff Johns - Goofy



Uploaded | TurboBit | Rapidgator

:: CBR 320 kbps ::

Uploaded | TurboBit | Rapidgator

ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted