Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Charles Mingus - The Jazz Workshop Concerts 1964-65 (7CD) (2012) (LOSSLESS)

17-03-2015, 22:47
Music | Jazz | Discography | FLAC / APE

Charles Mingus - The Jazz Workshop Concerts 1964-65 (7CD) (2012) (LOSSLESS)

Artist: Charles Mingus
Title Of Album: The Jazz Workshop Concerts 1964-65
Year Of Release: 2012
Label: Mosaic Records
Genre: Jazz
Quality: FLAC (Tracks,cue,log)
Bitrate: Lossless
Total: 7CD, 07:18:22 min
Total Size: 2,1 Gb

"Charles Mingus - The Jazz Workshop Concerts 1964-65 (Town Hall, Amsterdam, Monterey '64, Monterey '65 & Minneapolis)" - It chronicles the essential live performances of this genius of modern music as his compositions achieved a depth and complexity we would come to know as Mingus's most signature work. It includes (on the earlier recordings) the brilliant Eric Dolphy, along with Jaki Byard, Dannie Richmond, Johnny Coles, and Clifford Jordan -- certainly one of the best assemblages of musicians ever. And the music, recorded across the world's concert stages and intended for release by Charles Mingus Enterprises, dashes once and for all every previously-held notion about what is, and isn't, jazz. What makes this collection even more appealing is the fact that, of the seven discs in the collection, only one of them has ever been available on an authorized CD. Almost two full CD has never been available on CD at all. And more than two hours worth of music include new discoveries - appearing for the first time ever, in any form. Even listeners of the era knew they were witness to something special. Mosaic's box set includes an essay and track by track analysis by Mingus biographer Brian Priestley, an essay on the listory of Charles Mingus Enterprises and rememberances by Sue Mingus and many rare photographs from the concerts. Like all of Mosaic's sets, our release is strictly limited to an edition of 7500. This is truly a find worth hearing, worth savoring, and worth collecting.

Charles Mingus - The Jazz Workshop Concerts 1964-65 (7CD) (2012) (LOSSLESS)
Disc 1
Town Hall Concert, April 4, 1964
1. A. T. F. W. (A) 4:20 (Jaki Byard)
2. Sophisticated Lady (A) 5:49 (Duke Ellington)
3. So Long Eric (A) 17:46 (Charles Mingus)
4. Praying With Eric (A) 27:35 (Charles Mingus)

Disc 2
Town Hall Concert, April 4, 1964
1. Peggy’s Blue Skylight (A) 19:13 (Charles Mingus)
2. Parkeriana, part one (A) 6:38 (Charles Mingus)
3. Parkeriana, part two (A) 8:57 (Charles Mingus)
4. Fables Of Faubus (A) 11:06 (Charles Mingus)

Disc 3
Concertgebouw, Amsterdam, April 10, 1964
1. A. T. F. W. (B) 4:50 (Jaki Byard)
2. Parkeriana (B) 21:20 (Charles Mingus)
3. So Long Eric (B) 22:19 (Charles Mingus)
4. Orange Was The Color Of Her Dress, Then Blue Silk (B) 13:53 (Charles Mingus)

Disc 4
Concertgebouw, Amsterdam, April 10, 1964
1. Sophisticated Lady (B) 5:34 (Duke Ellington)
2. Meditations On A Pair Of Wire Cutters (B) 23:03 (Charles Mingus)
3. Fables Of Faubus (B) 30:40 (Charles Mingus)

Disc 5
Mingus At Monterey, September 20, 1964
1. Duke Ellington Medley (C) 24:48
a. I Got It Bad (D. Ellington-P.F. Webster) 4:14
b. In A Sentimental Mood (Duke Ellington) 1:46
c. All Too Soon (D. Ellington-C. Sigman) 1:53
d. Mood Indigo (Bigard-Ellington-Mills) 0:59
e. Sophisticated Lady (D. Ellington-M. Parish) 1:46
f. Take The A Train (Billy Stryahorn) 13:54
2. Orange Was The Color Of Her Dress, then Blue Silk (C) 14:47 (Charles Mingus)
3. Meditations On Integration (C) 25:41 (Charles Mingus)

Disc 6
Mingus At Monterey, September 18, 1965
1. The Arts Of Tatum And Freddie Webster (E) 9:33 (Charles Mingus)
2. Don’t Let It Happen Here (E) 9:11 (Charles Mingus)
3. They Trespass The Land Of The Sacred Sioux (E) 8:39 (Charles Mingus)
4. When The Saints Go Marching In (E) 4:30 (K.E. Purvis-J.M. Black)
My Favorite Quintet, Minneapolis, May 13, 1965
5. So Long Eric (D) 18:27 (Charles Mingus)
6, Medley (D) 16:04
a. She’s Funny That Way (R. Whiting-N. Moret) 2:00
b. Embraceable You (G. Gershwin-I. Gershwin) 5:00
c. I Can’t Get Started (V. Duke-I. Gershwin) 5:00
d. Ghost Of A Chance With You (V. Young-N. Washington) 2:00
e. Old Portrait (Charles Mingus) 2:04
7. Cocktails For Two (D) 8:14 (A. Johnson-S. Coslow)

Disc 7
My Favorite Quintet, Minneapolis, May 13, 1965
1. Announcement (D) 1:06
2. Copa City Titty (aka O.P.) (D) 7:08 (Charles Mingus)
3. A Lonely Day In Selma, Alabama/Freedom (D) 10:46 (Charles Mingus)
4. Peggy’s Blue Skylight (D) 12:31 (Charles Mingus)
5. Mingus Piano Solo (D) 1:58 (Charles Mingus)
6. Announcement #2 (D) 0:58
7. Bird Preamble (D) 17:24 (Charles Mingus)
8. Themeless Blues (D) 15:11 (Charles Mingus)
9. Closing announcement (D) 0:56

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
5 voted

kusbo   User offline   18 January 2015 10:55

Great post, but the scans?

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.