Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Joe Venuti & Dave McKenna - Alone At The Palace (1977)

2-01-2014, 07:34
News | Music | Jazz | Instrumental | Oldies

Joe Venuti & Dave McKenna - Alone At The Palace (1977)

Artist: Joe Venuti & Dave McKenna
Title Of Album: Alone At The Palace
Year Of Release: 1977
Label: Chiaroscuro Records
Genre: Jazz, Swing
Quality: MP3 320 kbps
Total Time: 1:06:35
Total Size: 152,98 MB

For one of violinist Joe Venuti's final recording sessions, he engages in a set of duets with the talented swing pianist Dave McKenna. The original LP had a dozen performances and the reissue CD adds seven more. In addition to the usual standards, there are several Dixieland tunes (including three versions of "At the Jazz Band Ball") and four Venuti originals. McKenna (with his rolling basslines) was a perfect partner for the violinist, making this set one of the best of Venuti's later years.


1. At The Jazz Band Ball (3:21)
2. More Than You Know (4:25)
3. The World Is Waiting For The Sunrise (3:03)
4. Runnin' Ragged (3:02)
5. Speak Low (4:15)
6. Oh, Lady Be Good (3:33)
7. Take The A Train (3:55)
8. A Cottage For Sale (3:06)
9. Satin And Velvet (6:28)
10. That's A'Plenty (2:52)
11. Send In The Clowns (3:03)
12. The Other Side Of The Walk (2:53)
13. At The Jazz Band Ball # 2 (2:55)
14. At The Jazz Band Ball # 3 (2:38)
15. Runnin' Ragged # 2 (2:11)
16. They Can't Take That Away From Me (2:52)
17. Esterllita (4:06)
18. Variations On The Tea For Three (4:38)
19. Ain't Doin' Bad Doin' Nothin' (3:21)


Joe Venuti - violin
Dave McKenna - piano

Recorded At The Palace Theater, Albany, NY April 27-28, 1977

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.