Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


John Lennon - Singles & Home Tapes (2010) [2 CDs]

1-01-2014, 08:38
News | Music | Pop | Rock | Indie | Oldies | FLAC / APE

John Lennon - Singles & Home Tapes (2010) [2 CDs]

Artist: John Lennon
Title Of Album: Singles & Home Tapes
Year Of Release: 2010
Label: Capitol
Genre: Rock
Quality: MP3 / FLAC
Bitrate: 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Time: 2 CDs
Total Size: 168,95 MB / 411,91 MB

... disc of "singles"--Lennon's non-album tracks, now neatly rounded up , eliminating the need for otherwise redundant compilations. Here you'll find Give Peace a Chance, Cold Turkey, Instant Karma, Power to the People, Happy X-mas (War is over) and Move over, Ms. L. That last one is a rare b-side that hadn't been released on CD for years. It's not John's best but it's essential to a collection of his work and I'm very pleased it's here. This disc is short but serves its purpose in completing the archive.

The final disc consists of previously unreleased studio outtakes and home tapes, which are cool to hear and major Lennon fans will want to own them. I suppose these were tracks left over from the Anthology project. Highlights include an alternate recording of Serve Yourself and outtakes of Mother and Love. Also, very nice versions of Isolated, Remember, and Beautiful Boy. There are also demos of a couple of songs Lennon had never finished and I'd never heard until now. This does a lot to make up for those bonus tracks from the previous reissues. However, I do think this Singles and Rarities-oriented section could have been expanded by including some of the bonus tracks from those CDs, as well as a few cuts from Menlove Ave. (Here we Go Again) springs to mind, as well as the acoustic version of Real Love from the Imagine documentary and George Martin's beautiful orchestrated restoration of Grow Old with Me. Especially as the Singles disc is short, there would have been space to include some more of this material without expanding the number of discs. But I do appreciate that this collection is not mainly about rarities but about restoring Lennon's original library, so I'm treating the "Home Tapes" disc as mainly a bonus to begin with. (Again, thanks, Yoko. I'm listening to this portion now and it's good stuff for fans.)


CD1 - Singles:

01. Power To The People
02. Happy Xmas (War Is Over)
03. Instant Karma! (We All Shine On)
04. Cold Turkey [Single Version]
05. Move Over Ms L
06. Give Peace A Chance

CD2 - Home Tapes:

01. Mother
02. Love
03. God
04. I Found Out
05. Nobody Told Me
06. Honey Don't
07. One Of The Boys
08. India, India
09. Serve Yourself
10. Isolation
11. Remember
12. Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)
13. I Don't Wanna Be A Soldier Mama I Don't Wanna Die

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.