Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Bucky and John Pizzarelli - Solos and Duets (1996) 320 Kbps

26-12-2013, 04:24
Music | Jazz | Instrumental

Bucky and John Pizzarelli - Solos and Duets (1996) 320 Kbps

Artist: Bucky and John Pizzarelli
Title Of Album: Solos and Duets
Year Of Release: 1996
Label: Jazz Classics
Genre: Jazz, Swing
Quality: MP3 320 kbps
Total Time: 2 Cds
Total Size: 324,63 MB

The music within this two-CD set by Bucky Pizzarelli consists of several different sessions that initially appeared on separate Stash LPs and CDs before being combined for this collection. The first 22 tracks are taken from solo seven-string electric guitar sessions recorded in 1981 and 1986. His lyrical, strolling interpretation of "The Folks Who Live on the Hill," plus brilliant performances of two Bix Beiderbecke compositions ("Flashes" and "Candlelight" ) and a lush take of "'Round Midnight" are but a few of the many highlights. Both dates are virtual master classes for solo jazz guitarists. He's also joined by his talented son, John Pizzarelli, for 23 duets on seven-string guitar, mostly songs from the swing era, including a hard-charging "Love for Sale," an intricate "Nuages," and a sparkling "In a Mellow Tone." But there are surprises, including a delicate interpretation of Stephen Sondheim's ballad "Pretty Women" (from the musical Sweeney Todd) and Chick Corea's masterpiece "Spain" (inspired by Rodrigo's Guitar Concerto). Father and son were hardly strangers playing together, even at this relatively early point in the younger man's career; they comp one another beautifully. Unfortunately, the packaging of this two-CD reissue is severely flawed. Not only are both artists' photos given a bizarre coloring that make them look like post-nuclear war mutants, but they're shown playing guitar left-handed. In addition, all of the songs from disc one are actually on disc two, and vice versa, and the composer credits are omitted. But such sloppy work by the label shouldn't prevent fans of Bucky and John Pizzarelli from picking up this musically excellent release on Jazz Classics.


CD 1

01. You Must Believe In Spring (2:04)
02. The Folks Who Live On The Hill (3:31)
03. The Bad & The Beautiful (2:18)
04. Last Night When We Were Young (2:30)
05. Medley: Sophisticated Lady / Prelude To A Kiss (3:05)
06. Smoke Gets In Your Eyes (2:44)
07. One Morning In May (3:24)
08. Medley: Autumn Leaves / Autumn In New York (2:56)
09. Flashes (2:55)
10. Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most (2:55)
11. Concerto For Guitar (4:56)
12. I Guess I'll Have To Change My Plan (2:23)
13. Out Of This World (3:03)
14. The End Of A Love Affair (3:40)
15. Ill Wind (3:11)
16. Bewitched (2:29)
17. 'Round Midnight (3:28)
18. Solo Flight (3:16)
19. Blah! Blah! Blah! (3:26)
20. Candlelights (5:08)
21. All This And Heaven Too (2:29)
22. Medley: My Wonderful One / My Best Girl (2:13)

CD 2

01. Love For Sale (3:39)
02. Pretty Woman (2:09)
03. Nuages (3:27)
04. Sutton Mutton (2:23)
05. Close Enough For Love (3:32)
06. Undecided (2:47)
07. Spain (4:17)
08. All Through The Night (1:32)
09. This Nearly Was Mine (1:53)
10. Come Rain Or Come Shine (3:45)
11. Nikki (2:42)
12. Stems (3:08)
13. In A Mellow Tone (3:43)
14. Soon (3:03)
15. Why Did I Choose You? (2:44)
16. Medley: Romanza / In The Dark (3:50)
17. There Is No Greater Love (4:38)
18. In A Mist (4:58)
19. Four Brothers (4:36)
20. Lush Life (2:58)
21. Sleeping Bee (3:19)
22. Blame It On My Youth (2:04)
23. Goodbye (2:30)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.