Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Mark Hummel - Mark Hummel's Chicago Blues Party: Recorded Live! 1980-1992 (2009)

19-12-2013, 18:36
Music | Blues

Mark Hummel - Mark Hummel's Chicago Blues Party: Recorded Live! 1980-1992 (2009)

Artist: Mark Hummel
Title Of Album: Mark Hummel's Chicago Blues Party: Recorded Live! 1980-1992
Year Of Release: 2009
Label: Mountain Top Productions
Genre: Chicago Blues, Harmonica Blues
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbps, 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 75:49
Total Size: 190 Mb
Covers: Full

01. Can't Keep From Worrying (6:33)
02. You're The One (3:06)
03. Tricky Woman (8:24)
04. Big Boss Man (4:07)
05. Ludella (6:42)
06. Smokestack Lightning (3:31)
07. Red Light (5:03)
08. Trouble No More (4:05)
09. Sunny Road (5:40)
10. Dust My Broom (5:06)
11. Shake For Me (4:31)
12. How Much More Long (4:09)
13. Long Distance Call (4:17)
14. Gotta Make A Change (3:59)
15. Blue & Lonesome (6:29)

Mark Hummel is becoming the king of hodge-podge blues recordings that gather tracks from various sessions and unify them into a wholly complete and satisfying package. For this in-concert collection, the first-call harmonicist presents various live dates from Slims, Berkeley Square, the San Francisco Blues Festival, and La Sitta in northern California with such vocal/guitar legends as Jimmy Rogers, Eddie Taylor, Mississippi Johnny Waters, and Luther Tucker. Most of the songs are blues classics everybody knows, except for the songs by Rogers, which are from his personal playlist. The recording quality is pretty good overall, making for a fine listening experience for any true blues lover, and Hummel himself is at the top of his game. Obviously, Rogers is the crown jewel on this program, with four tunes penned by J. Lane, mostly slowed down, or in the light, steady, rolling Jimmy Reed tradition, including the all-time classic "Big Boss Man." Guitarist Rusty Zinn and pianist Tom Mahon are also in this formidable, patient band with Hummel. Taylor is just a step below Rogers, but even more secured in the tradition, doing Howlin' Wolf's "Smokestack Lightning," the midtempo "Red Light" also from Jimmy Reed's repertoire, the well-known Sleepy John Estes upbeat boogie rocker "Trouble No More," the easy "Sunny Road" by Charles Brown, and "Dust My Broom," all with Johnny Waters helping out on second guitar. Mississippi Johnny leads out on two upbeat showcase selections -- another immortal Howlin' Wolf tune, "Shake for Me" and J.B. Lenoir's "How Much More Long" -- with the famous Muddy Waters number "Long Distance Call" mimicking the author's authoritative, screaming vocals. The final two tracks with Tucker's guitar and vocals are more a forum for Hummel's biting harmonica playing, especially during Little Walter's "Blue & Lonesome." Both Tucker and Hummel sing on the rocker "Gotta Make a Change," the lone "newer" tune penned by the harmonicist. The only technical glitch comes during "Long Distance Call," as Johnny Waters' vocal indeed sounds far removed from the stage, its presence dissipated and not clearly captured. Overall this is a top-notch album with extended tracks, a substantial playing time for a CD, and worth more than the price because of the living legends of blues Hummel has backed or played with. It's as authentic and hearty a compilation as can be, a great history lesson for those just getting into urban electric Chicago-style blues with a feeling. ~Review by Michael G. Nastos

Uploaded | Turbobit

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted

poul   User offline   19 December 2013 19:39


  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like

nrwsps   User offline   21 December 2013 07:01


  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.