Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


High Speed Downloads

Eric Van Aro - Obsession EP (2013)
[MP3 Version]

8946 downloads at 13 mb/s

Eric Van Aro - Obsession EP (2013)
[FLAC Version]

9672 downloads at 25 mb/s

Eric Van Aro - Obsession EP (2013)

22-11-2013, 22:43
Music | Jazz | Vocal Jazz

Eric Van Aro - Obsession EP (2013)

Artist: Eric Van Aro
Title Of Album: Obsession EP
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: Eraki
Genre: Vocal Jazz
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbps, 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 29:31
Total Size: 69 Mb
Covers: Front

01. I'm Not Anyone (Feat. Fabio Gianni) (4:38)
02. Since I Fell For You (Feat. Fabio Gianni) (4:40)
03. Rain (Feat. Fabio Gianni) (4:12)
04. Ordinary Fool (Feat. Fabio Gianni) (3:40)
05. With You I'm Born Again (Feat. Sheri Pedigo & Fabio Gianni) (3:40)
06. Obsession (Feat. Alex Battini De Barrerio, Sebastiano Mambretti & Fabio Gianni) (4:13)
07. Dancing To The Rhythm (Feat. Iguazu Acoustic Trio) (4:25)

There is a striking symbiosis here between vocalist Eric van Aro and pianist Fabio Gianni, who also co-arranged Obsession. Together, they transform a clutch of pop songs in new jazz favorites and uncover a lost classic or two – all while working with an endlessly fascinating unity of vision. They are, even when working with a few choice collaborators late in the proceedings, joined at the musical hip.

Gianni’s darkly resonant instrument, for instance, sets a plaintive atmosphere for van Aro’s Johnny Hartman-esque entrance on the moving Sammy Davis Jr.-by-way-of-Paul Anka gem “I’m Not Anyone.” But van Aro doesn’t stay in one place for long, exploring the empowering lyric with an emotional sweep that shakes off his initial sad resignation in favor of a hard-eyed determination. Meanwhile, there’ Gianni’s solo. Rather than underlining that anthem-like bravado, it instead strikes a more panoramic stance – adding a sense of twinkling reminiscence that offers van Aro a chance to start a slow burn all over again once he returns to the microphone. He then ends “I’m Not Anyone” with another thunderous assertion, before a final delicately touching turn from Gianni.

Obsession provides van Aro with some intriguing choices in material, beginning with Dr. John’s deep cut “Rain” (from 1978’s City Lights) – which finds the singer growling to great effect. But even where the album might feel familiar, as on Buddy Johnson’s “Since I Fell For You,” van Aro mixes things up: He and Gianni give the track a late-night saloon feel, more controlled and ultimately more filled with hurt than most who approach this familiar lyric. Paul Williams’ “Ordinary Fool,” the last of the EP’s duo recordings, is given a spritely feel – like these two are skipping in between the raindrops.

Van Aro and Gianni are then joined by guest vocalist Sheri Pedigo for a tender reworking of the 1979 hit “With You, I’m Born Again” from Billy Preston and Syreeta Wright. Gianni provides a reserved accompaniment, without the period-piece strings that gave the original an overly sentimental feel – and this track is utterly reborn. Percussionists Alex Battini de Barreiro and Sabastiano Mambretti then add an insistent energy to the title track, opening the door for a jazzy performance from van Aro that has all of the inventiveness of classic vocalese.

Finally, van Aro is joined by the Latin-flavored Iguazu trio for a similarly engaging take on Stevie Wonder’s “Dancing in Rhythm” to close out Obsession, a highly recommended effort co-produced by van Aro and Antonio Chindamo. ~by Nick DeRiso

Uploaded | Turbobit

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.