Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - Mercury Living Presence II: The Collector's Edition [Box Set] (2013)

16-11-2013, 11:55
Music | Classical Music | Discography | FLAC / APE

VA - Mercury Living Presence II: The Collector's Edition [Box Set] (2013)

Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: Mercury Living Presence II: The Collector's Edition
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: Umgd/Decca / 1831802
Genre: Classical, Baroque, Romantic, Modern
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 8.79 gb / 18.90 gb (Covers)

This new collection of 55 CDs from the acclaimed audiophile label offers a wealth of recordings from the 1950s and 1960s in an unrivaled range of repertory.

This ranges from solo Bach played by harpsichordist Rafael Puyana to American composer and conductor Howard Hanson in his own works as well as music by fellow-Americans. Key artists include Antal Dorati in works ranging from Beethoven to Bartok and Berg; Frederick Fennell, Rafael Kubelík, Paul Paray and Janos Starker.

An extensive 182 page booklet includes new essays on the history and development of the Mercury label by Thomas Fine (son of Wilma Cozart Fine, legendary producer of the MLP label) and Mike Gray.

Numerous photographs are included and full recording information is documented. When we say full recording information, we mean it too. All the details collectors love to see is here: the microphones, the recording location, the original engineers, the subsequent remastering engineers, even the type of recording equipment.

Two CDs of true rarities are included: Doratis 1953 mono recording of The Rite of Spring; and making its first-ever appearance on CD is John Coriglianos Piano Concerto.

The CD also includes a rare 16 minute interview with Corigliano and pianist Hilde Somer.

Mercury Living Presence is special in many ways - an American company, from the heyday of classical recording in the U.S., that reproduced some of the most sonically realistic recordings at the dawn of the stereo era. Precious few stereo LPs were pressed when these recordings were issued, and they became some of the rarest, most collectible classical discs ever.

Mercury Living Presence continues to enjoy a special reputation as one of the most enterprising, prestigious and sonically-spectacular labels in the history of classical recording.

VA - Mercury Living Presence II: The Collector's Edition [Box Set] (2013)

01 DORATI Schoenberg Webern Berg
02 RORATI Respighi: The Birds Fountains & Pines of Rome
03 DORAT Bartók: Concerto for Orchestra Dance Suite
04 DORATI Respighi: Ancient Airs and Dances
05 DORATI Dvorák: Symphonies 7 & 8
06 DORATI Gershwin Copland Schuller Bloch
07 DORATI Satie Milhaud Auric Françaix
08 DORATI Tchaikovsky: Symphony 6 Pathétique
09 DORATI Bartók: The Wooden Prince
10 DORATI Bartók: The Miraculous Mandarin
11 DORATI Tchaikovsky: Symphony 4 Borodin
12 DORATI Beethoven: Symphonies 5 & 6
13 DORATI Albéniz Falla Mussorgsky
14 KUBELIK Hindemith Schoenberg Kodály
15 DORATI Beethoven: Symphony 7 Overtures
16-17 DORATI Tchaikovsky: Swan Lake
18-20 FISTOULARI & DORATI Delibes: Sylvia Coppélia
21 MARCEL DUPRÉ Widor Franck
22 FENNELL Leroy Anderson
23 FENNELL Grainger Persichetti Khachaturian
24 FENNELL ROLLER Gould Giannini Hovhaness
25 FENNELL Grainger Coates
26 FENNELL Hands Across the Sea
27 FENNELL Coates Anderson
28 FENNELL The Spirit of 76 Ruffles & Flourishes
29 FENNELL Mozart R. Strauss Milhaud
30 FENNELL Holst Vaughan Williams Mennin
31 HANSON Hanson: Symphonies 1 & 2
32 HANSON Gould Barber
33 HANSON Ives Schumann Mennin
34 HANSON Hanson: Symphony 3 Elegy Lament
35 HANSON Barber Piston Griffes Kennan
36 HANSON McPhee Sessions Thomson
37 HANSON Moore Carpenter Rogers Phillips
38 HANSON Chadwick MacDowell Peter
39 HANSON Music for Quiet Listening Vol.1
40 HANSON Music for Quiet Listening Vol.2
41 KUBELIK Mozart: Symphony 38 Dvorák: Symphony 9
42 PARAY Ibert: Escales Ravel: Rapsodie Espagnole
43 PARAY French Opera Highlights: Hérold Auber Gounod
44 PARAY Saint-Saëns: Organ Symphony Paray: Mass
45 PARAY Chabrier Roussel
46 PARAY Ravel: Daphnis et Chloé Suite 2 Debussy: Nocturnes
47 PARAY Bizet: Carmen Suite L Arlésienne Suites 1 & 2 Thomas
48 PARAY Dances of Death: Liszt Weber Saint-Saëns Schmitt
49 PARAY Debussy: Ibéria La Mer Ravel: Ma Mère l Oye
50 PUYANA The Golden age of the Harpsichord
51 PUYANA J. S. Bach: Overture in the French Manner Toccata in F sharp minor
52 PUYANA Baroque Masterpieces for the Harpsichord
53 STARKER Chopin Mendelssohn Debussy Bartók
54 DORATI Stravinsky: Le Sacre du Printemps (1953 recording)
55 SOMER & ALESSANDRO Corigliano R. Strauss


Uploaded | TurboBit

ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
3 voted