Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


The Orb - History of the Future [Box Set] (2013)

28-10-2013, 07:52
Music | Electronic | Ambient | House | Techno | FLAC / APE

The Orb - History of the Future [Box Set] (2013)

Artist: The Orb
Title Of Album: History of the Future
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: Universal / 375 179-9
Genre: Electronic, Ambient, Dub Techno, House
Total Time: 3:21:23
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 484 mb / 1.25 gb

Review by Andy Kellman
The standard two-disc edition of History of the Future, an anthology covering the Orb's years on the Island label, is basically an update of and slight variation on 1998's U.F. Off. Released the year of the Orb's silver jubilee (1988-2013), this factors in one more studio album (2001's Cydonia) with a similar format. There's one somewhat skimpy singles-oriented disc -- a 53-minute program that includes the U.K. Top Ten hits "Little Fluffy Clouds," "Blue Room," and "Toxygene." Disc two, consisting of remixes, features Coldcut's dub of "Little Fluffy Clouds" and Andrew Weatherall's "Ultrabass 1" version of "Perpetual Dawn," as well as a pair of previously unreleased tracks: "Close Encounters [Smile, You're on Camera Mix]," executed by the Orb and Slam, and "Majestic [Heavy Mix]." The 3CD/1DVD edition adds a fanatics-only live audio disc and an incomplete compilation of videos, Top of the Pops appearances, and a live clip. Most of the contents of the live audio disc are taken from a 1993 Copenhagen gig performed at sunset, and there's also a version of "Assassin" from Woodstock '94. The deluxe edition booklet offers not just extensive notes but loads of photos and scans of press releases and articles as well.


Disc 1 - The Singles Collection
01. A Huge Ever Growing Pulsating Brain That Rules From The Centre Of The Ultraworld (Orbital Dance Mix) (08:10)
02. Little Fluffy Clouds (7" Mix) (04:09)
03. Perpetual Dawn (Solar Youth Mix) (04:00)
04. Blue Room (7" Mix) (04:01)
05. Assassin (7" Mix) (03:41)
06. Oxbow Lakes (Orbus Terrarum Version) (07:29)
07. Asylum (Orblivion Version) (05:19)
08. Toxygene (Orblivion Version) (05:20)
09. Once More (Cydonia Version) (04:18)
10. Ghostdancing (Cydonia Version) (07:29)

Disc 2 - Remixes and Rarities
01. A Huge Ever Growing Pulsating Brain That Rules From The Centre Of The Ultraworld (Loving You) (Aubrey Mix Mk II) (07:21)
02. Little Fluffy Clouds (Coldcut Heavyweight Dub Mix) (06:18)
03. Perpetual Dawn (Ultrabass 1) (08:06)
04. Blue Room (Excerpt 605) (05:58)
05. Majestic (Heavy Mix) (09:45)
06. Close Encouncers (Smile, You're On Camera Mix) (10:05)
07. Assassin (Another Live Mix) (13:31)
08. Toxygene (Ganja Kru Remix) (06:27)
09. Once More (Mark Pritchard Mix) (07:51)

Disc 3 - Bonus Live CD
01. Towers Of Dub (Live) (13:04)
02. Little Fluffy Clouds (Live) (11:08)
03. Blue Room (Live) (18:24)
04. Star 6 & 7 8 9 (Live) (08:57)
05. Valley (Live) (08:13)
06. Assassin (Live) (12:00)


Uploaded | TurboBit

ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 60
3 voted