Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Lou Rawls - Nobody But Lou & Lou Rawls and Strings (2002)

23-10-2013, 18:34
Music | Jazz | Vocal Jazz | Soul | Funk | FLAC / APE

Lou Rawls - Nobody But Lou & Lou Rawls and Strings (2002)

Artist: Lou Rawls
Title Of Album: Nobody But Lou & Lou Rawls and Strings
Year Of Release: 2002
Label: Collectables / COL-2847
Genre: Soul, Funk, Vocal Jazz
Total Time: 61:15 min
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 147 mb / 410 mb

Review by William Ruhlmann
Lou Rawls made five albums for Capitol Records between 1962 and 1965 before achieving commercial success in 1966. This discount-priced two-fer combines the fourth and fifth of those albums. In them, one gets a glimpse of the evolution of Capitol's view of Rawls as a singer. Rawls himself doesn't change, as ever applying his deep, rich voice and swinging manner to the material, but the music around him does change. Although both albums employ jazz veteran Benny Carter as arranger/conductor, Carter seems to have had different marching orders for each one. On Nobody but Lou, he has organized a big band à la Count Basie for a set of charts that emphasize Rawls' similarity to former Basie vocalist Joe Williams. This is a hard-swinging session, with plenty of room for instrumental soloing and arrangements that echo the up-tempo blues style of Williams' hits like "Everyday I Have the Blues." At times, if you didn't know who was singing, Williams would be your first guess. Nobody but Lou didn't sell, but Rawls did get a minor chart entry in 1965 with a revival of the 1920s standard "Three O'Clock in the Morning," which seems to have inspired Capitol to authorize a full-length album in the same vein. Lou Rawls and Strings finds Rawls performing a bunch of other '20s songs and a couple of tunes from the '50s accompanied by horns, strings, and a vocal chorus. Carter manages to make things swing now and then, but this is a much more pop-oriented set than its predecessor, even though Rawls makes repeated attempts to customize the material to his own purposes. Together, these albums show a Lou Rawls in his late twenties looking for a style to call his own. He doesn't quite succeed, but there is some good music nevertheless.


01. Nobody But Me
02. Into Each Life Some Rain Must Fall
03. Whispering Grass
04. Two Tickets West
05. Its Monday Every Day
06. The Power Of Love
07. If I Had My Life To Live Over
08. For You My Love
09. If Its The Last Thing I Do
10. Gee Baby Aint I Good To You
11. Blues For The Weepers
12. Whatll I Do
13. My Buddy
14. Du Bist Die Liebe
15. Margie
16. Now And Then Theres A Fool Such As I
17. Three Oclock In The Morning
18. Me And My Shadow
19. Cold Cold Heart
20. Ill See You In My Dreams
21. Charmaine
22. Nothing Really Feels The Same



Uploaded | TurboBit | Rapidgator

:: CBR 320 kbps ::

Uploaded | TurboBit | Rapidgator

ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted