Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - Angola Soundtrack: The Unique Sound of Luanda (1968-1976) [2010]

8-10-2013, 01:35

VA - Angola Soundtrack: The Unique Sound of Luanda (1968-1976) [2010]

Artist : VA
Title Of Album : Angola Soundtrack: The Unique Sound of Luanda (1968-1976)
Year Of Release : December 7, 2010
Label : Analog Africa
Genre : World, Ethnic & African
Quality : Flac (Trakcs)+Cue+Log / MP3
Bitrate : Lossless / CBR 320 kbps
Total Size : 335 MB / 165 MB

Analog Africa's compilations are always among the most carefully researched, compiled, painstakingly mastered, and exhaustively annotated, and Angola Soundtrack, the compilation that closes out the label's 2010 releases, is no exception. Label boss Samy Ben Redjeb's record-collecting journey this time out took him to three continents over a period of a couple of years to find recordings and finally to Luanda itself. After buying, borrowing, and listening to literally hundreds of sides (he has a novel to write about his travels this time and should someday), he narrowed it to these 18 cuts, and they are a revelation. The contents focus on eight years between 1968 and 1976: from the period near the end of Angola's independence war with Portugal and the early years of its own civil war. The music here is a heady mix of traditional Luandan island rhythms, as they met musical styles from other African countries and those of the Latin American continent, the Caribbean, and American and European rock, soul, and funk. The electric guitar -- which was a popular element of the music from nearby Congo during these years -- plays a central role, as do innovative polyrhythmic tendencies that meld various musical traditions into something uniquely Angolan. The sequencing of these vocal and instrumental tracks on this set tells its own story, from its folkish origins through to a developmental period of reaching outside of itself into global grooves. Highlights include "Ilha Virgem" by Jovens do Prenda; the African salsa of "Mi Cantando Para Ti" by N'Goma Jazz; the driving "Passeio Por Luanda" by Alliace Makiadi; and the horn-and-guitar overdrive that is "Eme Lelu" by Quim Manuel o Espiritu Santo. The lengthy, hypnotic jam "Massanga Mama," which closes the set, includes everything from reggae to son to electric blues, and is alone worth the price of admission. Add Ben Redjeb's authoritative liners -- with some considerable co-authoring from African history professor Marissa Moorman -- and interviews with many of the artists here and from the period, and you have not only an indispensable compilation of Angolan popular music, but an irreplaceable one.
-- All Music

01 - Mamukueno - Rei do Palhetinho
02 - Os Kiezos - Comboio
03 - Jovens Do Prenda - Ilha Virgem
04 - Ze Da Lua - Ulungu Wami
05 - Os Bongos - Pachanga Maria
06 - Dimba Diangola - Tira Sapato
07 - Santos Junior - N'Gui Banza Mama
08 - N'Goma Jazz - Mi Cantando Para Ti
09 - Ferreira Do Nascimento - Macongo Me Chiquita
10 - David Ze - Uma Amiga
11 - Jovens Do Prenda - Farra Na Madrugada
12 - Os Korimbas - Semba Braguez
13 - Dimba Diangola - Fuma
14 - Alliace Makiadi - Passeio por Luanda
15 - Os Bongos - Kazucuta
16 - Quim Manuel O Espirito Santo - Eme Lelu
17 - Africa Ritmos - Pica O Dedo
18 - Africa Show - Massanga Mama

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.