Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Rebecca Luker - Anything Goes. The Songs of Cole Porter (1996)

1-10-2013, 11:36
Music | Jazz

Rebecca Luker - Anything Goes. The Songs of Cole Porter (1996)

Actress/singer Rebecca Luker, whose Broadway credits include The Secret Garden and the 1994 revival of Show Boat, in which she played the female lead, Magnolia, makes her debut solo album with a collection of Cole Porter songs. In her acknowledgments, she thanks her musical director, Patrick Brady, also credited for arrangements and five of the orchestrations (the rest are by Larry Moore), saying his "name should grace the front of this CD."
It may be that both Brady and Moore deserve that credit, since their musical treatments of the vintage songs are so stirring. They start with Moore's setting for "Anything Goes," which begins with a simple piano before involving a swing band in a sort of supercharged recollection of 1920s jazz. On the tracks that follow, the music is vibrant and inventive, redefining the familiar Porter melodies. Luker, a sweet-voiced soprano, holds her own over the maelstrom, after signaling the feisty approach to the material in a cover photograph that finds her, decked out in black dress and elbow-length gloves, wielding a cigar and appearing to be in the middle of a triumphant laugh. It's the right image for the approach she and her orchestrators have taken to reinvigorating one of Broadway's great songwriters.

-William Ruhlmann

Artist: Rebecca Luker
Title Of Album: Anything Goes. The Songs of Cole Porter
Year Of Release: March 26, 1996
Label: Varese Sarabande
Genre: Vocal Jazz
Quality: mp3
Bitrate: 320 kbps
Total Time: 51:15 min
Total Size: 110Mb

1. Anything Goes 3:46
2. After You, Who? 2:42
3. Night And Day 4:37
4. Ridin' High 3:15
5. True Love 3:36
6. Leader Of The Big Time Band 3:46
7. You Do Something To Me 3:11
8. Dream Dancing 3:54
9. I Am Loved 3:29
10. Ah, Fong Lo! 4:09
11. Don't Fence Me In 3:31
12. In The Still Of The Night 2:57
13. I Like Pretty Things / Where Oh Where? (from the film Mississippi Belle) 4:39
14. Every Time We Say Goodbye (from Seven Lively Arts) 3:36

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted

scnogueira   User offline   2 October 2013 12:03

The Turbobit link is wrong. Its another artist.
Andrea Fascetti - Dedicated to Steve (2008)

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like

royal_roost   User offline   2 October 2013 12:46

Yes, wrong link for Turbobit

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like

denis.parishkov   User offline   22 September 2014 01:28

Both links are dead :( Please oh please re-upload it! It's such a great album!

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.