Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Alex Pangman With Bucky Pizzarelli - Have A Little Fun (2013)

2-05-2016, 18:35
Jazz | Vocal Jazz

Title: Have A Little Fun
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: Justin Time / Fontana North
Genre: Jazz, Vocal, Swing
Quality: Mp3/320
Total Time: 45:10
Total Size: 116 Mb


1. Some Of These Days
2. Are You Having Any Fun
3. The Fog Song
4. The Panic Is On
5. I’m Confessin’ That I Love You
6. If Felt So Good To Be So Bad
7. Just One More Chance
8. Shanghai Lil
9. Out Of Nowhere
10. Stardust
11. Melancholy Lullaby
12. Topsy Turvy
13. Undecided
14. Intro Some Of These Days

Local jazz singer Alex Pangman’s last disc, 33, felt inspired – perhaps because most of its songs were from the same early 1930s era. The selections on Have A Little Fun, though drawn from and influenced by a similar time period, sound more haphazard.
Pangman recorded half of them with legendary American guitarist Bucky Pizzarelli in one morning session at Don Kerr’s Rooster Studios. His flurry of guitar work, as well as Drew Jurecka’s violin and Michael Herring on bass, can be heard on those tracks.
The other half were recorded a couple years later at the Rooster with Pangman’s live band, the Alleycats. It makes us wonder: why didn’t she make this into two leaner albums with different moods?
Of note are her 30s-style originals, especially mellow highlight The Fog Song, featuring Laurie Bower on slinky trombone. (Sarah Greene)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
3 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.