Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Sam Doores + Riley Downing & the Tumbleweeds – Holy Cross Blues (2012)

25-02-2016, 10:47
Blues | Country | Folk

Title: Holy Cross Blues
Year Of Release: 2012
Label: Dollartone
Genre: Blues, Country, Folk
Quality: Mp3/320
Total Time: 48:41
Total Size: 118 Mb


1. I Got Found
2. Passin' Through
3. Depression Blues
4. No Mama Blues
5. Low Down & Lonesome
6. Blues in Heaven
7. This Morning' I Was Born Again
8. Reuben's Train
9. Wrong Time to Be Right
10. Throw Another Cap in the Fire
11. Cricket's Creed
12. Silver & Gold

Here’s a good example of cross-border co- operation. Canadian indie label Dollartone came across Sam Doores in Memphis in 2010 and signed his band. Holy Cross Blues is the happy result.
The group formed in the Holy Cross hood of New Orleans (Downing is a recent addition), though the disc was partly recorded in Nashville, with producer Andrija Tokic (Alabama Shakes). Doores (also a member of Hurray for the Riff Raff) and Downing contribute originals that dovetail nicely with songs by the likes of Bobby Charles, Woody Guthrie and Cast King. They mix blues, gospel, folk and country styles into a tasty retro gumbo. There’s a dustbowl -era feel that’s a bit reminiscent of Elliott Brood or Hotcha!, while “Depression Blues” has a soulful, Big Easy vibe that’s boosted by horns. Doores and Downing alternate lead vocals, adding to the variety. The playing and singing are vigorous, but happily free of the bombast and freneticism of some of their peers. This is mighty fine stuff and you can bet they’re a treat live.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
5 voted

garybx   User offline   25 February 2016 19:12

Thanks for the re-up!

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.