Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


The Chris O'Leary Band - Waiting For the Phone to Ring (2012)

11-07-2014, 06:17
Music | Blues | Soul | Rock

The Chris O'Leary Band - Waiting For the Phone to Ring (2012)

Artist: The Chris O'Leary Band
Title Of Album: Waiting For the Phone to Ring
Year Of Release: 2012
Label: Fidellis Records/VizzTone Label Group
Genre: Blues, Modern Electric Blues, Contemporary Blues, Soul Blues
Quality: Mp3
Bitrate: 320 kbps
Total Time: 53:46 Min
Total Size: 131 Mb


1. Give It
2. Without You
3. Louisiana Woman
4. Pictures Of You
5. Hole In My Head
6. Waiting For The Phone To Ring
7. Jealous Hearted Man
8. Pockets Are Full
9. Trouble
10. Questions
11. History
12. 377-9189
13. The Prince

Chris O'Leary's got it, man, he's got it. From rollickin' rock (Give It) to weekend stomp (Without You) to slinkin' down-lo back-alley swank (Louisiana Woman) to barrelhouse balladry (Pictures of You) and well beyond…and, lord, that's only the first four of thirteen cuts delivered with pizzazz, panache, plenty of pig's feet n' gumbo, and more than a little pugilistic punch-up all through the blues' back yard. His ace band knows how to center O'Leary's vocals while parading all around him, hot and hip but perfectly in control, ac-cen-tu-atin' the positive, the negative, the questionable, and even the downright nasty. Thus, Waiting for the Phone to Ring most astutely joins the label's catalogue of modern blues gems.
In fact, the very title cut is sassier 'n shit, with sprechestimme, rogue-ish strut, and enough testosterone to fuel an A-grade dragster…but not TOO much, mind ya, as Chris sings, among other matters, about a woman who beat "a deadbeat husband with a 'luminum baseball bat". The times have changed since yer pappy's days, boys, so don't think the wimmens put up with that guff no' mo'…might getcha hurt, Bert. The old James Montgomery Band put out classic cuts like this, and I'm sure as hell happy to see the mode ain't been abandoned, even in this age of PC goop and drivel.
Coming from a six-year stint with Levon Helm's Barnburners, O'Leary knows the rough 'n tumble, and his earlier debut, Mr. Used to Be, garnered critical raves and awards nominations near and far, clinching a "Best New Artist Debut" hoo-rah at Chi-town's Blues Blast Music Awards. Well, this one, y'all, takes the ass-kicking a step further and every single song was written, unbelievably, by O'Leary hisself. The guy's a quintuple threat, and, heyyyyy, waitaminnit…wasn't that his grandma's cow who kicked over the lantern in Chicago and………?

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 60
2 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.