Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - The First Esquire Concert Vol.1 & 2 1944 (1994) Mp3 + Lossless

5-09-2015, 19:57
Jazz | Oldies | FLAC / APE

VA - The First Esquire Concert Vol.1 & 2 1944 (1994) Mp3 + Lossless

Artist: VA
Title Of Album:The First Esquire Concert Vol.1 & 2
Year Of Release: 1944 (1994)
Label: Jazz Unlimited
Genre:Big Band,Swing,Jazz
Quality:mp3 / Flac (tracks+.cue)
Bitrate:320 kbps / Lossless
Total Time:01:57:35
Total Size: 279,14 / 525,76 Mb

The First Esquire Jazz Concert was an all-star event held in 1944 at the Metropolitan Opera House to honor winners (including first and second place honorees) in the magazine's jazz poll. In addition to being broadcast, it was preserved on transcription discs and reissued many times over the years with different excerpts of the evening's program. Some of the highlights include "Sweet Lorraine" (Art Tatum with Al Casey, Oscar Pettiford, and Sid Catlett), "Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me" and "Billie's Blues" (Billie Holiday), and a lengthy jam on "I Got Rhythm" featuring Red Norvo (on xylophone), Coleman Hawkins, Louis Armstrong, Barney Bigard, Jack Teagarden, and Roy Eldridge with the rhythm section. At times the piano is not clearly heard and there are brief interruptions by the broadcast host to introduce some of the soloists, but the sound quality is quite remarkable for the period.

Tracklist :

CD 1
1 Esquire Blues (Feather) 5:06
2 Mop Mop (Hawkins) 4:51
3 Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me (Ellington, Russell) 3:46
4 I Love My Man (Holiday) 4:18
5 I Can't Give You Anything But Love (Fileds, McHugh) 3:41
6 I Got A Right to Sing the Blues (Koehler, Arlen) 3:52
7 Sweet Lorraine (Parish, Burwell) 3:37
8 I Got Rhythm (Gershwin) 9:08
9 The Blues (Feather) 3:09
10 We All Drink "Coca Cola" (Joy) 1:26
11 Esquire Bounce (Feather) 2:00
12 Rockin' Chair (Carmichael) 3:30
13 Basin Street Blues (Williams) 4:44
14 I'll Get By (As Long as I Have You) (Turk, Ahlert) 1:44
15 Tea for Two (Youmans, Caesar) 4:19

1 Back o' Town Blues (Armstrong, Russell) 3:37
2 Muskrat Ramble (Ory) 2:45
3 Buck Jumpin' (Casey, Waller) 3:00
4 Stompin' at the Savoy (Sampson) 3:24
5 For Bass Faces Only (Pettiford) 5:31
6 My Ideal (Robin, Whiting, Chase) 3:26
7 Rose Room (Hickman, Williams) 5:35
8 I've Got a Feeling I'm Falling (Faller, Link, Rose) 3:24
9 More Than You Know (Youmans, Rose, Eliscu) 3:58
10 Squeeze Me (Waller) 2:50
11 Honeysuckle Rose (Waller, Razaf) 1:51
12 Flying Home (Hampton) 12:26
13 Jamming the Vibes (?) 4:37
14 The Star Spangled Banner (Smith, Key) 1:41

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.