Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Nathan James and Rhythm Scratchers - What You Make Of It (2012)

23-06-2014, 06:08
Music | Blues | Rock

Nathan James and Rhythm Scratchers - What You Make Of It (2012)

Artist: Nathan James and Rhythm Scratchers
Title Of Album: What You Make Of It
Year Of Release: 2012
Genre: Blues, Blues Rock
Quality: Mp3 (covers)
Bitrate: 320 kbps
Total Time: 59:50 Min
Total Size: 164 Mb


1. Chosen Kind
2. What You Make Of It
3. Black Snakin' Jiver
4. Later On
5. Get To The Country
6. Make It On Your Own
7. Rhino Horn
8. Pretty Baby Don't Be Late
9. Blues Headache
10. Pain Inside Waltz
11. I'm A Slave To You
12. First And The Most
13. You Led Me On
14. Tri-Tar Shuffle Twist

James Harman - vocals
Marty Dodson - drums, percussion, background vocals
Nathan James - Guitar
Rhythm Scratchers
Troy Sandow - harmonica, upright bass, background vocals

Southern California blues sensation Nathan James breaks out big with his first-ever national release for Delta Groove. Backed by his ever-faithful band The Rhythm Scratchers, consisting of Troy Sandow on harmonica & bass and Marty Dodson on drums, Nathan

In keeping with the genre’s inherent anathema to current trends and commercial tastes, most working blues professionals prefer the challenge of reliving a particular style or era from the blues’ long and storied past than break new ground. Had guitar picker and washboard specialist Nathan James taken a similar tack with his release of What You Make Of It, he might have steered a more predictable course.
Instead, James navigates the entire span of early-to-mid 20th century blues by tracing its major currents in chronological order beginning with hill country hollers and rags of the 1920s and 30s, continuing up through 1940s-era juke joint raves and 1950s-tinged electric blues before veering off into 60s soul and R&B.
Comprised largely of originals penned by James in homage to the various periods he chronicles, the material is performed using hand-built gear such as the percussive-sounding “Tri-Tar” guitar and something called a “Washtar Guitboard,” a hybrid instrument that allows James the dexterity of playing both guitar and washboard at the same time. These DIY innovations lend a dash of authenticity to James’ well-intentioned musical retrospectives. Unfortunately they pale in comparison to the trio of recherché song classics included in the album’s set list.
Hokum-styled bluesman Blind Boy Fuller’s old-time country rag, “Black Snakin’ Jiver,” Chess recording artist Jimmy McCracklin’s smoldering 1961 B-side, “Later On,” and Dallas-based songwriter Bobby Patterson’s R&B tour de force, “I’m A Slave To You,” are without peer. These are the progenitors from which everything else on the album derives. Only James’ nod to Memphis soul, “First And The Most,” comes even remotely close to matching these in terms of substance, proving once again that a first-rate musician does not a great songwriter make.
Whether What You Make Of It’s circuitous journey satisfies a demand for simple variety or serves as merely a demonstration of James’ expertise as a music archivist is very much open for debate. Only one thing is for certain: They sure don’t write ‘em like they used to.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 80
4 voted

Azzure   User offline   16 May 2012 15:57


  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like

nrwsps   User offline   26 March 2013 15:27

Thanks a lot. 3

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.