Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


High Speed Downloads

Bill Evans - The Sesjun Radio Shows (2011)
[MP3 Version]

8946 downloads at 13 mb/s

Bill Evans - The Sesjun Radio Shows (2011)
[FLAC Version]

9672 downloads at 25 mb/s

Bill Evans - The Sesjun Radio Shows (2011)

2-03-2016, 22:58
Jazz | FLAC / APE

Title: The Sesjun Radio Shows
Year Of Release: 2011
Label: T2 Entertainment
Genre: Jazz
Quality: FLAC (Tracks)/MP3 320 kbps
Total Time: 127 min
Total Size: 715 mb/358 mb

Bill Evans was frequently recorded for radio broadcast during his various European tours, many of which ended up as bootlegs with incorrect song and personnel listings, poor audio, and incomplete tracks. Fortunately, everything is done right in this two-CD set, which is compiled from three separate performances between 1973 and 1979. The first five tracks are from a duo tour with the phenomenal bassist Eddie Gomez, who spent over 11 years with the pianist.

The absence of a drummer (Marty Morell was evidently not a part of this tour, though he played with Evans into 1974) gives Evans a more intimate sound; Evans seemed to achieve an incredible E.S.P. playing with the talented Gomez. Following a buoyant opener, "Up with the Lark," the duo's moving setting of Evans' bittersweet, lyrical "Time Remembered" is a reminder of the pianist's total mastery of ballads, as is his equally touching "The Two Lonely People." There are plenty of fireworks in the pianist's "T.T.T. (Twelve Tone Tune)" as the two musicians use his dissonant theme as a jumping-off point for brilliant improvisations. The 1975 set adds drummer Eliot Zigmund, who spent four years with Evans. In these trio selections, the pianist introduces each theme alone, though it is a diverse five-song set. Evans' upbeat "Sugar Plum" showcases the leader extensively, with the rhythm section coming in several minutes later. There were several modern pop songs that drew the pianist's attention, including Bobbie Gentry's "Mornin' Glory" (which incorrectly lists Glen Campbell as co-writer), which Evans transformed into a potent jazz ballad. Evans' "T.T.T.T. (Twelve Tone Tune Two)" is even more demanding than its predecessor, with the trio navigating its pitfalls with ease in a wild, breezy performance. The 1979 tracks will be of great interest to Evans' fans. The new trio, with the brilliant young bassist Marc Johnson and superb, subtle drummer Joe LaBarbera, achieved a level of playing close to the pianist's group with Scott La Faro and Paul Motian. The trio selections cover familiar territory but find the band at its peak, highlighted by the lightly swinging take of Tadd Dameron's "If You Could See Me Now" and Evans' always introspective exploration of Miles Davis' "Nardis," the latter tune individually showcasing all three musicians. Harmonica virtuoso Toots Thielemans, who appeared on Evans' Affinity album, is a special guest on the last five songs, adding a sizzling solo to "Blue in Green" and getting to play his signature song "Bluesette" with the trio as well. The temporary quartet also nicely gels with a romp through Evans' longtime set closer "Five." The Sesjun Radio Shows is an essential collection for fans of Bill Evans.

Bill Evans - The Sesjun Radio Shows (2011)
01 - Up With The Lark 6:38
02 - Time Remembered 5:43
03 - Ttt 4:56
04 - The Two Lonely People 7:27
05 - Some Other Time 4:53
06 - Sugar Plum 7:47
07 - Sareen Jurer 7:00
08 - Morning Glory 4:33
09 - Tttt 6:49
10 - Blue Serge 5:11

01 - If You Could See Me Now 5:44
02 - My Romance 9:36
03 - Laurie 7:36
04 - Nardis 12:50
05 - Blue In Green 4:17
06 - The Days Of Wine And Roses 7:35
07 - I Do It For Your Love 9:04
08 - Bluesette 6:36
09 - Five 3:10

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 80
4 voted

frav10   User offline   19 September 2011 17:30

Thank's from Israel 3

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.