Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Kate Bush - Director's Cut [3CD Collector’s Edition] (2011) FLAC + CBR 320

25-11-2014, 19:51
Rock | Alternative

Kate Bush - Director's Cut [3CD Collector’s Edition] (2011) FLAC + CBR 320

Artist: Kate Bush
Title Of Album: Director's Cut
Year Of Release: 2011
Label: Fish People
Genre: Art-Rock, Pop-Rock, Alternative
Quality: FLAC (tracks +.cue +.log) | Mp3
Bitrate: Lossless | CBR 320kbps
Total Time: 02:38:13
Total Size: 969 MB | 484 MB (Scans)

When Deeper Understanding emerged as the first evidence of Kate Bush’s new album of revisions, the instant reaction was surprise tinged with anger. How dare she play with our memories? How dare she use Auto-Tune on the chorus vocal? "Butchered" and "almost unforgivable" cried the fansites. But as Bon Iver and Sufjan Stevens have already shown, Auto-Tune – a pitch-shifting tool typically used to mask defects – can also be used for beauty. It’s not as if Bush’s own vocal was altered. Instead, it’s just the song’s computer voice, which now resembles 2001: A Space Odyssey’s HAL 9000 rather than a demo on a kid’s Casio. A bonus two-minute coda of Talk Talk-style folk-jazz floatiness extends the mood of blissful angst. Butchered? More like reborn.

The problem is less that Bush’s new album consists of old songs than the fact she’s only released one album of new ones in 18 years. She’s had the urge to tinker before, sprucing up Wuthering Heights for her 1986 greatest hits, The Whole Story. All the vocals and drums on Director’s Cut – totalling four tracks from 1989’s The Sensual World, seven from 1993’s The Red Shoes – are new; if such a term existed, you could say the overall execution has been to ‘de-80s-fy’ the originals. Gone are the gated drums, the keyboard presets, the Synclavier washes; in comes a softer, golden glow. Minus the choc-box orchestra (plus subtly altered lyrics), the rest of Moments of Pleasure emerges into the light, shaded by a solemn choir. Rubberband Girl, which in context sounds like a knees-up down her local boozer, comes over like the work of a totally different band (weirdly, that band is now The Rolling Stones).

The Sensual World’s title-track, now re-named Flower of the Mountain and borrowing Molly Bloom’s soliloquy from James Joyce’s novel Ulysses as Bush intended (she was originally denied permission), is another major alteration. Yet, musically, it’s rather more cosmetic. Just as Bush sounds in great voice – richer, bolder, brighter, wiser – so the re-cast Lily and The Red Shoes’ title-track follow suit, but they’re hardly re-inventions. As much as it’s fascinating to hear Bush the Elder look back at Bush the Younger, is the tinkering worth a full album? Yes, because it’s a sign Bush the Artist is still alive (she’s working on new songs too) and Director’s Cut (a less prosaic title would have been nice) is a gorgeous body of work. No, because it’s writer’s block by any other name. No, because it’s not radical enough a move. But if Deeper Understanding raised hackles, imagine if Kate had gone dubstep or collaborated with Odd Future. World wars have broken out over less.

Martin Aston


01. Flower of the Mountain (Originally Titled The Sensual World) (5:15)
02. Song of Solomon (4:45)
03. Lily (4:05)
04. Deeper Understanding (6:33)
05. The Red Shoes (4:58)
06. This Woman's Work (6:30)
07. Moments of Pleasure (6:32)
08. Never Be Mine (5:05)
09. Top of the City (4:24)
10. And So Is Love (4:21)
11. Rubberband Girl (4:37)

01. The Sensual World (3:58)
02. Love and Anger (4:42)
03. The Fog (5:07)
04. Reaching out (3:12)
05. Heads We're Dancing (5:21)
06. Deeper Understanding (4:46)
07. Between a Man and a Woman (3:30)
08. Never Be Mine (3:45)
09. Rocket's Tail (4:07)
10. This Woman's Work (3:39)
11. Walk Straight Down the Middle (3:49)

01. Rubberband Girl (4:45)
02. And So Is Love (4:17)
03. Eat the Music (5:08)
04. Moments of Pleasure (5:18)
05. The Song of Solomon (4:27)
06. Lily (3:54)
07. The Red Shoes (4:02)
08. Top of the City (4:14)
09. Constellation of tThe Heart (4:47)
10. Big Stripey Lie (3:29)
11. Why Should I Love You? (5:01)
12. You're the One (5:50)

Kate Bush - Director's Cut [3CD Collector’s Edition] (2011) FLAC + CBR 320

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted

lisajko   User offline   31 July 2012 22:25

Все файлы из папки удалены

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.