Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Dizzy Gillespie - Jazz In Paris: The Giant (2001)

28-01-2015, 21:06
Music | Jazz | FLAC / APE

Dizzy Gillespie - Jazz In Paris: The Giant (2001)

Artist: Dizzy Gillespie
Title Of Album: Jazz In Paris: The Giant
Year Of Release: 2001
Original Release Date: 1973
Label: Verve
Genre: Jazz, Latin Jazz
Quality: FLAC(Tracks)|MP3
Bitrate: lossless | 320kbps
Total Time: 34:03 min
Total Size: 228 mb/83 mb

Dizzy Gillespie - Jazz In Paris: The Giant (2001)
1 Stella By Starlight 7:50
2 I Waited For You 3:50
3 Girl Of My Dreams 5:37
4 Fiesta Mojo 11:25
Saxophone [Tenor] - Johnny Griffin
5 Serenity 5:09

This 1973 Paris studio session first appeared on the European label America as The Giant, but there has been some confusion as various combinations of songs have appeared under the same album title with Dizzy Gillespie's name over the years. Although rather brief in length with just five tracks and clocking in at under 34 minutes, this lively date has some strengths. The trumpeter turns over the solo spotlight to the extraordinary bassist Niels Pedersen and pianist Kenny Drew, prior to featuring himself in brief spurts with drum breaks by Kenny Clarke. Pedersen's fine arco technique introduces the brief ballad "I Waited for You," in which Gillespie is clearly at the top of his game. His muted horn saunters over Clarke's crisp brushwork during "Girl of My Dreams," although the overlong Latin original "Fiesta Mojo" quickly grows tiresome, in spite of a guest appearance by tenor saxophonist Johnny Griffin. Drew contributed the lush ballad "Serenity," which closes the CD. It's obvious that Dizzy Gillespie's chops are just starting to slip at this point in his career, but fans of his work will want to pick up this enjoyable reissue, as Gillespie at 90 percent is far more listenable than many well-known trumpeters at 100 percent. ~ Ken Dryden

Recorded in Paris, France on April 13, 1973. Originally released on America (6133). Includes liner notes by Alain Tercinet.

This is part of Verve's Jazz In Paris series.

Personnel: Dizzy Gillespie (trumpet); Johnny Griffin (tenor saxophone); Niels-Henning Orsted Pedersen (double bass); Kenny Clarke (drums); Humberto Canto (tumba).

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.