Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Amir ElSaffar & Hafez Modirzadeh - Radif Suite (2010) (LOSSLESS & MP3)

14-12-2015, 12:38
Music | Jazz | FLAC / APE

Title: Radif Suite
Year Of Release: 2010
Label: Pi Recordings
Genre: Jazz, Free Jazz
Quality: FLAC (Tracks)/MP3 320 kbps
Total Time: 69:17 min
Total Size: 347 mb/158 mb

Amir ElSaffar & Hafez Modirzadeh - Radif Suite (2010) (LOSSLESS & MP3)
1 Radif-E Kayhan: Facet One Modirzadeh 2:34
2 Radif-E Kayhan: Facet Two Modirzadeh 2:39
3 Radif-E Kayhan: Facets Three/Four Modirzadeh 3:21
4 Radif-E Kayhan: Facets Five/Six Modirzadeh 4:48
5 Radif-E Kayhan: Facets Seven/Eight Modirzadeh 5:41
6 Radif-E Kayhan: Facet Nine Modirzadeh 1:48
7 Radif-E Kayhan: Facet Ten Modirzadeh 5:49
8 Radif-E Kayhan: Facets Eleven/Twelve Modirzadeh 3:53
9 Copper Suite: Introduction - Copper Refraction El Saffar 2:23
10 Copper Suite: Post-Idiomatic Blues/Cells A El Saffar 7:32
11 Copper Suite: Doves Over Zion (Dream of the Beloved)/Duet Interlude El Saffar 5:18
12 Copper Suite: Uganda/Trio Interlude El Saffar 4:39
13 Copper Suite: Bird of Prey El Saffar 3:42
14 Copper Suite: Awj/Ancestral Memory El Saffar 5:07
15 Copper Suite: 7 Quintuplets/Triptych/Bass Solo El Saffar 5:22
16 Copper Suite: All Said and Done/Sirens/Reverence El Saffar 4:32

Review by Michael G. Nastos

Although trumpeter Amir El Saffar and tenor saxophonist Hafez Modirzadeh are steeped in the maqam and Middle Eastern culture of their upbringing, it is the modern creative jazz of the '60s that informs their music of now. The Radif Suite album is comprised of two eight-part suites played by a quartet, each one individually composed by the principals. "Radif" means row, so this is a collection of compositions that can theoretically be arranged in any order, and the ensemble uses a self-defined chromodal approach. But what is clear is that this music directly springs forth from the original harmelodic concept of Ornette Coleman. "Radif-E Kayhan" is comprised of many "Facets" composed by Modirzadeh, starting in a slow, solemn mood, stretching beyond a humorous chuckle, then settling into the tandem but thin unison lines reminiscent of the Gato Barbieri/Don Cherry ensemble that was a springboard from Coleman's bands of the mid-'60s. Whether bluesy, free, or fractured, the band has this style down pat. With drummer Alex Cline and bassist Mark Dresser, El Saffar's "Copper Suite" has a focus that is both soft and loud, as if conducting internal electricity. There's some counterpoint from the horns, chit-chat, and free bop, but the two horns are united in a repast of lower-key proportions until a vocal section and a "bringing it home" tag-team coda. Likely more appropriate for a concert setting, this recording does hold your attention, and makes you realize that collective improvisation with a concept behind it can be pulled off by disciples of Ornette, no matter where they come from. It's a stirring and inspired group, worthy of any accolades or praise one can muster in the creative improvised music world.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
3 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.