Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


The Chieftains - Further Down the Old Plank Road (2003)

1-02-2014, 05:53
Music | World | Folk | Celtic | FLAC / APE

The Chieftains - Further Down the Old Plank Road (2003)

Artist: The Chieftains
Title Of Album: Further Down the Old Plank Road
Year Of Release: 2003
Country: Ireland
Label: BMG/Victor Music #82876 52897 2
Genre: Folk, Celtic
Format: MP3 + APE (Image)+Cue+Log
Quality: CBR 320 kbps + Lossless
Total Time: 55 min 04 sec
Total Size: 133 Mb + 333 Mb | Scans

Further Down the Old Plank Road is a 2003 album by The Chieftains. It is a collaboration between the Irish band and many top country music musicians including Rosanne Cash, Chet Atkins, The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, Ricky Skaggs, and Patty Loveless.

The successor to the phenomenally successful DOWN THE OLD PLANK ROAD, this mixed-bag collection of folk perennials and newer material features the same cast as the former album in much of the same folk-meets-country setting. A welcome result of the hugely successful O BROTHER, WHERE ART THOU? movie soundtrack, this pair of albums brought together the Chieftains and a plethora of country artists in a meeting of old and new worlds, a physical manifestation of the cultural cross-pollination that has been ongoing between Europe and America for centuries.

Here, as on the former album, old-timers such as Doc Watson, Don Williams, John Prine, and the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band share equal time with such comparative newcomers as Allison Moorer and Patty Loveless, whose reading of "Three Little Babes" is a highlight. Sadly, FURTHER DOWN THE OLD PLANK ROAD features what was to be the last performance of Chieftains member Derek Bell, who died shortly after the album was completed.


[03:09] 01. The Raggle Taggle Gypsy
[03:29] 02. Jordan is a Hard Road to Travel
[04:26] 03. Hick's Farewell
[02:18] 04. Shady Grove
[03:13] 05. The Girl I Left Behind
[04:19] 06. Rosc Catha Na Nuimhain / Arkansas Traveller / The Wild Irishman
[03:19] 07. Lambs in the Greenfield
[03:13] 08. The Moonshiner / I'm a Rambler
[03:55] 09. Wild Mountain Thyme
[01:55] 10. Chief O'Neill's Hornpipe
[03:13] 11. Bandit of Love / The Cheatin' Waltz
[03:15] 12. The Squid Jiggin' Ground / Larry O'Gaff
[04:09] 13. Three Little Babies
[02:10] 14. Fisherman's Hornpipe / The Devil's Dream
[04:34] 15. Talk About Suffering / Man of the House
[04:21] 16. The Lily of the West

Produced by Paddy Moloney

Line-up / Musicians:

Kevin Conneff (vocals, bodhran)
Matt Molloy (flute)
Paddy Moloney (tin whistle, Uillean pipes)
Sean Keane (fiddle)
Derek Bell (harp, keyboards, tiompan)

Nitty Gritty Dirt Band:
Jeff Hanna (vocals, guitar)
Jimmy Ibbotson (guitar)
Jerry Douglas (resophonic guitar)
Bela Fleck (banjo)
Jimmie Fadden (harmonica, drums)
Edgar Meyer (bass)

Additional personnel includes:
John Hiatt (vocals, guitar)
Tim O'Brien, Christopher Thile (vocals, mandolin)
Nickel Creek, Sara Watkins (vocals, fiddle)
Allison Moorer, Patty Loveless, Rosanne Cash, Ricky Skaggs (vocals)
Jeff White (acoustic guitar, mandolin)
John Leventhal (acoustic guitar)
Chet Atkins, Doc Watson, Merle Watson (guitar)
Stuart Duncan (fiddle)
Caroline Lavelle (cello)
Martin O'Connor (accordion)
Matt Rollings (piano)
Glenn Worf (upright bass)
Kenny Malone, Shannon Forrest (drums)
Caroline Goodgold, Deborah Lyons, Margaret Dorn, Teddy Thompson (background vocals)

♫ MP3

▪ ● TurboBit

▪ ● Uploaded


▪ ● TurboBit

▪ ● Uploaded

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
5 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.