Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Eero Koivistoinen - Altered Things (1992) (LOSSLESS & MP3)

21-11-2014, 12:55
Music | Jazz | FLAC / APE

Eero Koivistoinen - Altered Things (1992) (LOSSLESS & MP3)

Artist: Eero Koivistoinen
Title Of Album: Altered Things
Year Of Release: 1992
Label: Timeless Holland
Genre: Jazz, Post Bop
Quality: APE (Image+.cue)/MP3
Bitrate: lossless | 320kbps
Total Time: 63:25 min
Total Size: 330 mb/145 mb
WWW: allmusic

Finland's premier saxophonist Koivistoinen ventured to New York City for this CD and employed some of the finest jazz players, including trombonist Conrad Herwig, trumpeter Randy Brecker, pianist David Kikoski, bassist Ron McClure, drummer Jack DeJohnette, and guitarist John Scofield (on four cuts). Bugge Wesseltoft plays rather innocent, unobtrusive sythesizer on three other pieces. The horn charts are smartly arranged by the tenor and soprano saxophonist, and played to perfection. The music is contemporary, bop-based, modernistic, and well-swung by DeJohnette's personalized chatty signature rhythms. At their hippest and most basic, the band grooves on "Everblue," one of eight tracks Koivistionen penned. Brecker, Herwig, and Eero's tenor are united in a Horace Silver-type head nod. The easier swing of "Magreb" has a different Euro-soul, an ultra bright chart based on Kikoski pedal point piano. A similar vehicle from Kikoski informs Seppo Kantonen's "Kabuki," another cool chart with Scofield's electric guitar darting and searching for prismatic colors. McClure's piece "Inspiration" is a good swinger with tenor, trumpet, and trombone debating in point-counterpoint one-upmanship fashion. "Van Gogh" is a tenor-led tango with pining background horns, while the seascape beauty of "Clear Dream" -- with soprano and piano only -- gives a lush hint at the leader's soft side. Koivistoinen displays a nice combination of Wayne Shorter's harmonic sense and Michael Brecker's lyricism. This is highly recommended.

Eero Koivistoinen - Altered Things (1992) (LOSSLESS & MP3)
1. Kabuki
2. Altered Things
3. Film Noir
4. Everblue
5. Van Gogh
6. Palapeli
7. Clear Dream
8. Inspiration
9. Maghreb
10. BLT

Randy Brecker: trumpet
Conrad Herwig: trombone
Eero Koivistoinen: tenor- and sopranosax
Dave Kikoski: piano
John Scofield: guitar
Ron McClure: bass
Jack DeJohnette: drums
Bugge Wesseltoft: synthesizer on 3, 5 and 6

All compositions by Eero Koivistoinen except "Kabuki" (Seppo Kantonen) and "Inspiration" (Ron McClure).

Recorded at Clinton Studios, New York City, USA, 25 and 26 September 1991.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
4 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.