Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Jimmy Rogers - The Complete Chess Recordings (2CD) (1997)

31-01-2014, 18:03
Music | Blues

Jimmy Rogers - The Complete Chess Recordings (2CD) (1997)

Artist: Jimmy Rogers
Title Of Album: The Complete Chess Recordings (2CD)
Year Of Release:
Country: USA
Label: Universal Music MCD 09372
Genre: Blues, Electric Chicago Blues
Quality: MP3
Bitrate: CBR 320 kbps
Total Time: 1 h 13 min 47 sec + 1 h 09 min 42 sec
Total Size: 348 Mb (+3%) | Scans
WebSite: amazon

While the 1976 issue of Chicago Bound, the first collection of Jimmy Rogers' Chess material has been rightly hailed as a definitive cornerstone in absorbing the history of early Chicago blues; sadly, that vinyl album has been out of print for a number of years with virtually nothing in the catalog to take its place. Until now. This two-CD (in a single-disc package) anthology collects up everything that appeared on Chicago Bound, a number of notable cuts from a two-vinyl-disc anthology that was barely released in the late 1970s, and no less than ten unreleased alternate takes from a variety of sessions with one of them, 'Luedella,' emanating from his first solo session in 1950. The singing, playing, and songwriting is virtually a textbook for the early Chicago style, as the players involved include Muddy Waters, Little Walter, Otis Spann, Willie Dixon, and Big Walter Horton, with all but Horton and Dixon regular mainstays of Muddy's original band, the blueprint of the early electric band sound. While some novices will find a two-disc set perhaps more than they want to pop for, this is as good as '50s Chicago blues gets, and no collection should really be without this one. ~ by Cub Coda

Tracklist: CD ONE 1950-1956

01. That's All Right (2:49)
02. Luedella (2:52)
03. Goin' Away Baby (2:43)
04. Today, Today Blues (3:09)
05. I Used To Have A woman (3:08)
06. The World's In A tangle (2:56)
07. She Loves Another Man (2:54)
08. Money, Marbles And Chalk (3:18)
09. Hard Working Man (3:19)
10. Chance To Love (3:19)
11. My Little Machine (3:10)
12. Back Door Friend (3:11)
13. Crying Shame (2:48)
14. Mistreated Baby (3:29)
15. The Last Time (2:43)
16. What's The Matter? (3:15)
17. Out On The Road (2:52)
18. Left Me With A Broken Heart (2:56)
19. Act Like You Love Me (3:01)
20. Blues All Day Long (Blues Leave Me Alone) (3:04)
21. Chicago Bound (2:40)
22. Sloppy Drunk (3:02)
23. You're The One (first version) (2:35)
24. You're The One (2:31)
25. If It Ain't Me (Who Are You Thinking Of) (2:03)

Tracklist: CD TWO 1956-1959

01. Walking My Myself (2:48)
02. I Can't Believe (2:46)
03. One Kiss (2:44)
04. What Have I Done (2:43)
05. My Baby Don't Love Me No More (2:21)
06. Trace Of You (2:31)
07. Don't You Know My Baby (2:31)
08. Don't Turn Me Down (2:16)
09. Looka Here (2:50)
10. This Has Never Been (4:28)
11. Rock This House (2:49)
12. My Last Meal (3:07)
13. You Don't Know (2:42)
14. Can't Keep From Worrying (2:29)
15. Luedella (alternate) (2:42)
16. Act Like You Love Me (alternate) (2:57)
17. What Have I Done (alternate) (2:25)
18. My Baby Don't Love Me No More (alternate) (2:16)
19. Trace Of You (alternate) (2:34)
20. Don't You Know My Baby (alternate) (2:27)
21. Don't Turn Me Down (alternate) (2:16)
22. This Has never been (alternate) (3:28)
23. Rock This House (alternate) (2:52)
24. My Last Meal (alternate) (2:23)
25. You Don't Know (alternate) (1:47)
26. Can't Keep From Worrying (alternate) (2:30)


Line-up / Musicians:

Jimmy ROGERS - Guitar, Harmonica, Piano, Vocals
Reggie Boyd, Robert Jr. Lockwood, Freddy Robinson, Luther Tucker, Muddy Waters, Jody Williams, Bob Woodfork, Joe Young - Guitars
Henry Gray, Johnny Jones, Otis Spann, Eddie Ware - Piano
Little Walter, Big Walter Horton - Harmonica
Ernest 'Big' Crawford, Willie Dixon - Bass
Fred Below, Francis Clay, Elgin Evans, A.J. Gladney, George Hunter, S.P. Leary, Odie Payne - Drums
J.T. Brown, Ernest Cotton - Tenor Saxophone

♫ MP3

▪ ● TurboBit CD1
▪ ● TurboBit CD2

▪ ● Uploaded CD1
▪ ● Uploaded CD2

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
4 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.