Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Ahmad Jamal - The Legendary Okeh & Epic Recordings

19-07-2015, 06:43

Ahmad Jamal - The Legendary Okeh & Epic Recordings

Artist: Ahmad Jamal
Title: The Legendary Okeh & Epic Recordings
Year Of Release: July 26, 2005
Label: Epic / Legacy
Genre: Jazz / Piano
Quality: Mp3
Bitrate: 320kbps / 44.1Khz / Joint-Stereo
Total Time: 75:52 min
Total Size: 173 MB
WebSite: Amazon

01. The Surrey With The Fringe On Top
02. Will You Still Be Mine
03. Ahmad's Blues
04. A Gal In Calico
05. Aki And Ukthay
06. Billy Boy
07. Black Beauty
08. Love For Sale
09. Something To Remember You By
10. Poinciana
11. Don't Blame Me
12. Autumn Leaves
13. They Can't Take That Away From Me
14. Old Devil Moon
15. It's Easy To Remember
16. Squeeze Me
17. Crazy He Calls Me
18. Pavanne
19. Perfidia
20. Rica Pulpa
21. The Donkey Serenade

This collection brings together the early OKeh and Epic recordings of innovative jazz pianist Ahmad Jamal, recorded between 1951 and 1955. Jamal ushered in a new era of melodic improvisation that stood in sharp contrast to bebop's previous innovations. These recordings were all done in trio settings, where the pianist was accompanied by guitarist Ray Crawford, and either Eddie Calhoun (1951 and 1952) or Israel Crosby on bass. The shimmering solos and light as a feather chord voicings are anything but lightweight. Sharp, harmonic invention, economical yet intuitive phrasing, and a deft sense of time pushed Jamal's star to ascendancy. Standout cuts here are his "Surrey with the Fringe on Top," which extrapolates the melody into new harmonic terrain; the beautiful arrangement of the traditional "Billy Boy"; Fats Waller's "Squeeze Me" with its beautiful ostinato, and Jamal's glorious read of "Perfidia."

The sound on this set is gloriously remastered. There are period liner notes by Nat Hentoff, and a moving and appreciative essay by Randy Weston. ~Thom JUrek

Turbobit: Download

Hitfile: Download

Uploaded: Download

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.