Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Dinah Washington - The Very Best of Dinah Washington (Box Set)

28-03-2015, 10:22
Music | Jazz | Blues | FLAC / APE

Dinah Washington - The Very Best of Dinah Washington (Box Set)

Artist: Dinah Washington
Title Of Album: Dinah Washington - The Very Best of Dinah Washington
Year Of Release: July 10, 2006
Label: EMI Gold
Genre: Vocal, Jazz, Blues
Quality: FLAC
Bitrate: lossless IMAGE+CUE +LOG +NO COVERS
Total Size: 1,19 Gb

Three CD set by one of the best-loved and most highly acclaimed female vocalists of all time. 72 tracks by the 'Queen Of The Blues' taken from her recordings for the Roulette label (1962-64) including 'Call Me Irresponsible', 'Lover Man', 'The Mat That Got Away', 'What Kind Of Fool Am I?', 'Is You Is Or Is You Aint My Baby?', 'Red Sails In The Sunset' and more. EMI.

Born Ruth Jones in Tuscaloosa, Alabama in August 1924, Dinah Washington moved to Chicago’s South Side when she was three or four. Her mother played piano at St. Luke’s Baptist Church, passing along her keyboard prowess to her young offspring. Spirituals comprised much of her initial focus; she hooked up with gospel pioneer Sallie Martin in 1940, hitting the road for a time as her accompanist. Yet secular pursuits had long intrigued her. Before joining Martin, the young singer had copped first prize at a Regal Theater amateur contest.

Whether it was bandleader Lionel Hampton, booking agent Joe Glaser, or Garrick Stage Bar boss Joe Sherman who gave Ruth the memorable stage handle of Dinah Washington, there’s no disputing her steady rise to stardom. A featured billing the Garrick led Hampton to hire her to sing with his big band in 1943.

Jazz critic Leonard Feather caught her with the Hampton band that December at Harlem’s Apollo and convinced Keynote Records to sponsor her debut session, but recording opportunities proved scarce while she was in Hampton’s employ. Before year’s end, Washington bid Hampton adieu, recording three Los Angeles sessions for the Apollo label under her own name before signing with the then-fledgling Mercury. She cut her first date for Mercury in January 1946, and by the summer of ’48 her solo star was in rapid ascension.

At the same time, Washington was interacting with some serious jazz royalty. She recorded with trumpeters Clifford Brown and Clark Terry, drummer Max Roach, and saxophonists Lockjaw Davis and Cannonball Adderley in the mid-Fifties, utilized Quincy Jones’s budding talents as an arranger, and employed pianist Wynton Kelly, drummer Jimmy Cobb, and tenor saxophonist Eddie Chamblee in her combo for extended stretches. (Chamblee was also one of her many husbands.)

Finally, in 1959, Dinah Washington made the full-fledged leap to pop stardom, thanks to the lovely Belford Hendricks-arranged ballad "What a Diff’rence a Day Makes". Under a&r man Clyde Otis’s market-savvy direction, she mined more pop gold with the stately "Unforgettable" and "This Bitter Earth". It was Otis’s brainstorm to pair Washington with her deep-voiced label mate Brook Benton; their seemingly playful duet "Baby, You Got What It Takes" masked serious tension between the two, but the end result was a giant pop and r&b hit in 1960.

An unintentional but lethal combination of alcohol and pills forever stilled Dinah Washington’s magnificent voice in Detroit on December 14, 1963. She was only thirty-nine.

Bill Dahl

Dinah Washington Biography


1. Call Me Irresponsible (2:21)
2. Lover Man (Oh Where Can You Be) (3:01)
3. Fly Me To The Moon (In Other Words) (2:29)
4. These Foolish Things (3:29)
5. Destination Moon (2:35)
6. Why Was I Born? (2:43)
7. I'm Glad For Your Sake (2:53)
8. You're A Sweetheart (2:28)
9. That's My Desire (2:53)
10. I Used To Love You (3:20)
11. I'll Be Around (2:55)
12. Soulville (2:21)
13. That Sunday (That Summer) (3:36)
14. I Ran Out Of Reasons (3:43)
15. Just One More Chance (2:30)
16. To Forget About You (2:26)
17. Romance In The Dark (2:14)
18. No Hard Feelings (2:36)
19. He's My Guy (3:13)
20. The Key To The Highway (2:42)
21. How Long How Long Blues (5:00)
22. The Blues Ain't Nothing (But A Woman Crying For Her Man) (3:45)
23. I Left My Heart In San Francisco (2:11)
24. Say It Isn't So (3:10)

1. The Man That Got Away (3:34)
2. Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me (2:18)
3. What Kind Of Fool Am I? (2:07)
4. Don't Say Nothing At All (2:35)
5. If It's The Last Thing I Do (3:37)
6. My Devotion (2:40)
7. Me & The One That I Love (2:59)
8. Somebody Else Is Taking My Place (2:26)
9. Me & My Gin (4:15)
10. Take Your Shoes Off (2:44)
11. Make Believe Dreams (3:06)
12. I'll Never Stop Loving You (2:17)
13. Something's Gotta Give (2:34)
14. The Show Must Go On (2:49)
15. I Wanna Be Around (3:40)
16. Don't Come Running Back To Me (2:25)
17. Take Me In Your Arms (2:19)
18. Stars Over My Shoulder (2:46)
19. A Handful Of Stars (3:25)
20. Where Are You? (2:15)
21. Just Friends (3:16)
22. Nobody Knows The Way I Feel This Morning (8:41)
23. Baby Won't You Please Come Home (2:07)
24. Miss You (3:39)

1. Is You Is Or Is You Ain't My Baby? (3:25)
2. You're Nobody 'Till Somebody Loves You (2:46)
3. Red Sails In The Sunset (2:34)
4. Coquette (2:58)
5. There Must Be A Way (4:08)
6. Let Me Be The First To Know (2:42)
7. Drinking Again (3:31)
8. Bill (3:00)
9. Drown In My Own Tears (2:38)
10. A Stranger On Earth (3:09)
11. I Didn't Know About You (3:07)
12. I'll Close My Eyes (2:51)
13. For All We Know (3:14)
14. What's New (3:43)
15. Funny Thing (2:35)
16. That Old Feeling (2:20)
17. He's Gone Again (2:47)
18. It's A Mean Old Man's World (3:13)
19. Make Someone Happy (3:14)
20. Icy Stone (2:32)
21. If I Never Get To Heaven (3:45)
22. Love Is The Sweetest Thing (2:46)
23. The Good Life (2:33)
24. On The Street Of Regret (2:16)

Dinah Washington - The Very Best of Dinah Washington (Box Set)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.